The Really Good Salad Recipe with Pieces of Fruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This is the most delicious salad I have ever tasted. My husband & daughter raved & we couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is the best salad recipe ever!! I have made it at least 10 times - once for a supper our community club catered for 100 people. Everyone always asks for the recipe when I bring it somewhere. I have never had fresh peaches on hand, so have always omitted them. In the winter, I make it with the cranberries and mandarin oranges as the only fruit. The first time I made it with the almonds, but the next time I didn't have any, so I substituted pecans and preferred those, so that is what I always use now. The nuts make the salad!! Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Definitely 5 stars! I had to take some liberties with the species of fruit I used, but otherwise was straight on. I served this with sliced cooked chicken on the salad. The only thing that would make this perfect would be a bit of cheese -- I think we'll have this with feta next time! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Indeed, this is a really good salad. I didn't use mango bc we didn't have any, and just one kind of lettuce, but I think I used the remainder of what was called for. I did use canned peaches and mandarin oranges and 1/2'd the dressing--it's been my experience that most of the dressing recipes on here can easily be halved and still be awesome. I wasn't sure about cooking almonds and sugar without oil, but it worked perfectly. Just watch closely once the sugar starts to carmelize. Thanks for the recipe! Very good salad. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This salad is always a big hit wherever I take it. I add whatever fruits I have on hand. Blueberries make a nice addition. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent salad! I have made this twice and both times it was a hit. I used store bought glazed almonds and bottled raspberry vinaigrette dressing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Great salad! Peaches are not in season right now, so I skipped those and added more mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I kind of added some of my own stuff to this salad. It was really good. Loved the dressing. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Yummy. Could do with less sugar in the dressing since all our fruit and the candied nuts were plenty sweet. Other than that, I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpecialKsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This salad was amazing and I had 3 other guests who agreed. I was hesitant about all of these fruits together in one salad but it was wonderful. Don't change a thing. The only thing I changed for the time factor was that I used bagged salad (1 1/4 bags of European mix). I think spring mix or romaine would work best. The slightly bitter lettuce combined with the celery and chives balanced out the sweetness perfectly. FYI- on medium heat, my almonds took over 10 minutes to toast and melt the sugar. I also did not make the dressing. I had every intention of a balsamic vinegar and olive oil based dressing from another recipe but I spilled it and then had to use bottled dressing from the fridge. Regardess, it worked great with light balsamic vinegrette and light rasberry balsamic vinegrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States