The Real Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I am laughing reading these reviews, watching the pains everyone's taking to assemble it right! Hehe. Anyway, my "build" idea is this (seems complicated, but it's not). Heat the empty tray under the broiler. Meanwhile, LIGHTLY toast the bread -- you just want it dried out, not actually toasted. Butter the sides of the bread that will face down. On one slice, stack corned beef, sauerkraut and cheese on top; on the OTHER slide, stack beef, cheese, then kraut on top. Take the baking sheet out, place the two stacked halves next to eachother, and broil. When done, slide them off with a spatula, top with dressing, and combine. Now you have altnerating layers of heaven, and the bread should be buttery, crunchy, not burnt, and not soggy. GREAT recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great sandwich - definitely the "Real" deal! This is a classic and I guess that's why it's one of my favorites. This was so good and so easy to make. If you use good quality ingredients you'll end up with a good quality sandwich. I toasted by bread lightly first with a bit of butter then assembled it and heated it in the oven until the cheese was nice and melty. I used "Thousand Island Dressing II" from this site. Perfect for a quick meal - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Oh my gosh, this is soooo good! One of my absolute favorite sandwiches! That being said, here is my method for making "grilled" sandwiches- toast the bread in the toaster, assemble the sandwich, place it on a plate in the microwave for 1 minute (or less). You get the toasted texture and melted cheese without frying it in butter. This also works for grilled cheese, tuna melts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This was a great recipe. I followed chefsingledad's suggestion on how to assemble it. Only disappointing thing was the kraut and meat was cool, while the bread and cheese were hot from broiling. Next time I will microwave th kraut and meat first to be sure the whole sandwich is nice and hot. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
My hubby and I just got back from a trip to Nashville where he swore he had the best Reuben sandwich at a place called the Palms....until now! I put this together following the advice of other reviewers, with the exception of using smoked turkey and pastrami because that's the way he likes his, and wow what a sandwich! He even woke up in the middle of the night talking about it! I used the marble bread and toasted it a bit before putting it in the oven. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
You are really missing out on a great recipe if you don't try Pam Anderson's Classic Reuben Sandwich. You really need to use a skillet to get everything heated just right. The ingredients are similar but the cooking techinique makes a HUGE difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Sensational! I used lighter colored Rye bread due to preference. I buttered the top of the bread (so the bread doesn't fall apart) and broiled them until lightly crispy and then assembled the sandwich and warmed. You have to be really quick or the bottom piece of bread will get soggy. It's best to make an extra sandwich rather than piling it high. I use to cook my sandwich on a skillet but this is a lot quicker and much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Great recipe! The dark rye is oh-so-essential, but it's tough to gauge the degree of browning. Keep an eye on this fellow in the pan ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This indeed is the real thing! I too spread a little butter on each slice (so that the bread would be "toasted") and used a larger baking sheet that could hold 6 ruebens and flipped after 2 minutes to evenly broil both sides. Also, I used deli-sliced swiss and when they were done, I re-opened the sandwiches carefully to add the thousand island dressing on the sandwich. Corned beef is not my favorite meat...but who can pass up a sandwich this good? Thanks Al!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
Al, thank you, thank you, thank you! Rubens are my favorite but I was never able to do them right at home. I always fried them but my cheese didn't melt and my sauerkraut was cold. Broiling is definately the trick. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States