The Real Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Loved this idea. I am assuming on the recipe the sandwich is broiled with ingredients on both slices of bread and then combined. The bread doesn't get toasted this way. ChefSingleDad's review helped tremendously. I was making a pan full and didn't want to stand there pan grilling 2 at a time. I didn't toast the bread first and forgot to heat the pan, but did heat the corned beef up. I put the reuben together first. The bottom didn't get toasted enough using this method without flipping them over. And the inside was not hot enough although the cheese did melt. I may try the broiling again with toasting the bread first and heating up the insides before assembly and flip when one side of the bread is toasted, or heat the pan which should toast the bottom then. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Thanks for sharing the ingredients. It also works great in a table-top grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
good flavors for a reuben
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
While at the supermarket the other day I wasn't sure what to make for dinner but then got the idea for Reuben sandwiches. So I bought all the ingredients I thought I'd need. When I got home I hopped onto AR just to make sure I had everything right. I didn't think I'd ever follow an actual recipe for a sandwich but after reading the reviews I did follow a few of the suggestions... I pre-heated the cookie sheet, made sure to butter the bread, and alternated the corned beef, sauerkraut, and cheese on each slice. Baked at 350 for a few minutes and then turned to broil for another minute or so. Came out toasty on the outside and warm all the way through!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I chose THIS recipe as my favorite, over the other ones here on allrecipes.com, because this one suggests the DARK RYE bread. To me, this is the most important part! It's not a true Reuben sandwich if you don't use dark rye (in my opinion)! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodeliciousCraig'sWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
mmmmmmmm. i use gulden's spicy mustard instead of thousand island.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I didn't have to toast the bread first (I was going to based on other reviews, but I forgot! The bread came out crispy anyway.) and I spread butter on the bread before broiling. Also, I put the thousand island on before broiling. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Mmm...I love reubens. What makes this even better is using Dorthy Lynch dressing instead of thousand island. Unfortunately, it is hard to find outside of Nebraska.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
The reason I like this recipe over the other ones here on Allrecipes is because this one suggests the dark rye. To me, its a very important part, and really just completes the sandwich. I do mine on a stove-top griddle and its a cinch to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This recipe was great. I took some ideas from other comments. We used corned beef which were leftovers from a dinner, so it wasn't the deli thin-sliced kind. The taste was superb. Instead of buttering the outsides of the bread, olive oil was brushed on the outsides and the sandwich was cooked for a few minutes on each side using an electric skillet. We really enjoyed this Reuben. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States