The REAL No-Guilt Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Definitely an alternative to milk based puddings! This is better cold than at room temperature, and it has the consistency you expect in a pudding. The combination of avocado and chocolate leaves something to be desired, but it isn't bad, it just takes getting used to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I eat a lot of no sugar, non-fat, vegan, vegetarian foods and I don't mind if something tastes a little odd when it's good for you. However, I did not care for it at all! I thought it might just be me so I had my husband and son try it and they thought it was even worse than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I love this stuff! Have made it 3 times, now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
just tried it ... I didnt think that it was very good (even if you have a major craving for chocolate and dont want the guilt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I love this stuff. The first taste is kind of shocking, especially if you're expecting it to taste like store-bought chocolate pudding. But after a few bites, it really grew on me, and I eat it all the time! I do find that it takes about 1/2 cup of water to make it the right consistency, and it definitely tastes better after it's chilled overnight. The ripeness of the avocados can also make a difference in taste; it tastes too "green" if they aren't fully ripe yet. I also find that the quality of the maple syrup makes a difference, 100% pure maple syrup giving the lightest and most pleasant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I had not expected chocolate and avocado to taste anything like pudding and was pleasantly surprised. It's not exactly what you'd expect and it sure beats some other vegan raw food choices hands down. I choose to leave out the lemon. If I'm hankering for some chocolate and fat I go back to this recipe. Stick with full fat avocados; the low fat ones are not thick enough to make this work. FREEZE THE AVOCADOS first by tossing them in the freezer with the peels on. This makes a super cold chocolate sherbert/icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillvanberkom
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
SO rich, it's hard to believe this yummy dessert is made with avocado. I made our version low-carb by substituting Splenda and sugar free maple. It tastes perfect and was a snap in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillvanberkom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
this is surprisingly good! i am a bad girl and never leave reviews, but felt obligated to review this great recipe. What a nice surprise! I used about 1 oz of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
great recipe never would of known it was good 4 ya i did add a banana to it and less syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Great pudding consistency. Will make with Greek yogurt and get the protein. Guess if no dairy is your only option it's pudding. Otherwise don't waste the avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States