The Real Mojito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Who knew that it was so easy to make a great mojito? Not me! This is a great recipe.,we used the end of a rolling pin in place of a muddler. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dougieing
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I used simple syrup instead of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I love it. But if you want a low-carb version that tastes great, skip the simple syrup and soda and use cold Fresca instead. Delish! Pop in a half a hot chile (don't muddle much!) for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Delicious and fresh flavor! Was a crowd pleaser!! Although I used more mint than it called for. But the mint was almost too overpowering so next time I will use the exact amount the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This recipe is closest to my favorite mojito during a trip to Puerto Rico. The granular sugar is essential. Substituting simple syrup as some other reviewers suggested saves little time and detracts from the drink. The granular sugar, with the muddled lime and mint, adds to the sweet and complex texture. Serve with one of those wide straws and you'll want to drink these faster on a hot summer day than you can make them (which are still good without the rum, by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Fallen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made it with blueberry lemonade seltzer (it was all I had) and turned out phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
To truly make it a five star, use Agave nectar instead of sugar or simple syrup. A local bartender gave me that tip and all of his drinks have been awesome so that's how I made mine. Also...because I was making mojitos in bulk for a large party, I squeezed the lime juice ahead of time, no muddling, and used a blender for the mint mixed with some of the juice and rum. Let the mix set for several minutes and the mint "extract" will come out just as well as if I'd muddled the mint. About 1.5 gallons of mojitos lasted around 30 minutes...people loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This recipe turned out really great for me. I substituted a stevia-sugar blend and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Trust me, you don't need to screw around with a good thing like some people suggesting here - using simple sirup, (2 cups of sugar to 1 cup of water, 2:1), unless you do this for a living and need to cut corners in order to be more productive. When it comes to making one for yourself or you friends, just use the real granulated sugar or sugar cube. Remember; muddling the ingredients together and especially the lime and mint leaves, require a good friction, grinding motion which you won't get from simple sirup!Whenever you'd be muddling sugar with citrus zests, granulated sugar is the "secret", it just requires a little extra effort which I think is well worth it especially when you perform in front of your buddies. Also don't worry about needing the "real" Cuban mint....any fresh bunch from your local store or your own yard will do. For a nice change you can even substitute fresh mint with fresh basil. Try it and let me know what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Art Vandeley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Real Mojito

Make a delicious, refreshing mojito from scratch. Enjoy!

Fresh Raspberry Mojito

A refreshing mojito with rum, raspberry vodka, fresh berries, and mint.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States