The Real Mojito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Good, but a few tweaks make a better mojito. First, stay away from the simple sugar as the most helpful comment suggests. I have tried it and liken it to lemonade made in the same manner(I hate it!). I like having some undissolved sugar in my drink. I use a citrus reamer to juice half a lime and crush it into the the mint leaves. If I'm being lazy I use enough bottled Key West lime juice to dampen the 2TBS sugar. Also try using SPRITE (or even ginger ale) instead of club soda. MOST IMPORTANTLY MIX EVERYTHING BEFORE ADDING THE CLUB SODA/SPRITE. Then add your carbonation and give the drink a quick swirl or two. Unless you must know exactly how much alcohol you are consuming dont bother measuring out the rum. After filling my glass near to the top with ice, I simply pour the glass about 2/3-3/4 of the way full of rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I like to use 151 proof Bacardi, and gold rum. I use a few drops of mint extract and a short squirt of agave nectar. Splendid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cemab4y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Just like the real thing I had in San Juan. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This is a pretty good recipe for a single drink but if I were going to make a full pitcher of mojitos, I'd make a mint-infused simple syrup instead of using granulated sugar. Granulated sugar just doesn't dissolve very well. I have plenty of spearmint in my back yard and this is a perfect treat after an afternoon of working on the pool and in the back yard. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Not bad, but I would start with half the sugar or even less and then add more to taste. I like to be able to taste the alcohol and fresh mint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Very easy to follow and the taste is perfect!!! Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This recipe was nearly perfect. The only change I made was using home made simple syrup instead of sugar, and it tasted exactly like the ones I had in Mexico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is the only recipe we use when making mojitos. I have mint in my backyard in the summer so this is one of our favorite drinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
The problem with these is that they are so good we drank to many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delibeanjelly
Home Town: San Andreas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Omg! Been looking for the perfect mojito recipe and this is it! Thanks! Only change i made was to use brown sugar but overall, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Real Mojito

Make a delicious, refreshing mojito from scratch. Enjoy!

Fresh Raspberry Mojito

A refreshing mojito with rum, raspberry vodka, fresh berries, and mint.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States