The Real Chicago Deep Dish Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I tried this it was my first time making any pizza dough. I have eaten chicago style pizza in chicago so I know what it was supposed to taste like. I followed the directions everything went fine until I tried to put it in the pan to make the pizza, the dough would not stay up the sides of my pan, I had a 8x2 inch cakepan. The dough kept sliding down the the pan sides so I could not get it to the top of the pan sides. So I cooked it for a very longtime it seems, I may not have put enough cheese on the bottom before making the pizza. The crust didn't seem to rise at all in the oven it didn't get puffed sides it sort of just sank and turned dense. I was worried it would not get browned on the bottom after about an hour in the oven I removed it and let it cool a while and cut into it, not very oozy due to not enough cheese, the grease from the italian sausage and pepperoni seemed to soak into the bottom crust too and the crust was golden brown and crispy but too hard almost to hard to cut thru and to eat. The rest of the pizza was pretty good but the crust just didn't turn out like I would have liked or expected, if anyone knows anything I might have done wrong please let me know, I want to keep trying until I can make an excellent deep dish pizza. All the videos I watched making pizzas mine didn't look anything like those. The crust pretty much deflated when I cooked it instead of puffing up more. It rose fine during proofing so I know the yeast was working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Just what I was looking for and, thanks to the first reviewer, couldn't have been easier than using the breadmaker then dumping the dough into the pan to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
perfect crust for deep dish pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidleenorton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Phenomenal - and this is coming from a native Chicagoan! Important note: you don't need a stand mixer! I mixed it with a baking spatula until it formed enough to do some kneading in the bowl for about 90 seconds. The one thing I asked my wife to put on our registry list as a deep dish pizza pan. I've always made the crust from the recipe that came with it, and it was as bland as it could be. This has the texture and flavor that you want with a deep dish pizza. Amazingly, the prep is FAR easier than what I used to make. Out of necessity, I only let it rise for 2.5 hours and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was really mediocre. I think store bought is better than this. Would never use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is virtually the same recipe I got for Chicago Style deep dish. It's missing the Yellow food Dye for that corn meal looking hue. This would be considered the Gino's East crust and yes it's the best recipe you will find for deep dish. Each cup of flour has 3 tablespoons of corn oil, 1/2 teaspoon of sugar and salt, 5 tablespoons of water and 3/4 teaspoon of yeast. Cooking temp is correct. Also you will need a good seasoned deep dish pan. You will also gain weight after eating it. That is guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
3 words..... OHHHHHH MYYYYY GODDDD !! made that recipe tonight and let me tell you it is by far the best pizza Crust ever !!! I never easy the Crust usually because it is so hard however this one... Cooked perfectly at 400F for 35 mins!! My boyfriend actually says it's just as good as giordano's !!! It's a must try !! Thanks you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
It's really delicious as-is. Best recipe tweek, add tblsp of milk to yeast, and water mixture. And substitute half the corn oil for olive oil. It's also perfect pizza to make the dough, let rise, beat down then stretch into cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Amazingly good recipe, very easy and my husband who is from NYC and is a pizza maven loved this crust. I made a 12" round and a deep dish pan pizza and both were crunchy outside, tender inside and stood up to my homemade pizza sauce and toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
OMG! I've always been a thin-crust type, but this deep dish recipe is fabulous. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States