The Real Chicago Deep Dish Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Alright, first reviewer! I took the gamble on making this crust without any reviews to go off off, and i'm glad I took the chance. Now let me share my experience to make the next guy or gal more confident about making this. First, I actually made two batches of this dough. I made one exactly as is, for comparison, and I made another using the dough cycle on my bread machine. I could not decipher any difference in the finished product either before or after baking comparing the dough prepared as indicated, and prepared in the bread machine. For the bread machine crust, I put all the liquid ingredients (water and corn oil) in the machine, followed by all the solid ingredients. I let my breadmaker run on the dough cycle, which is a 90 minute cycle. I left the house after that and so the dough sat in the machine for about 5 hours after the cycle had finished... and when all was said and done the two dough balls worked the same. SO, if you want to save some time/effort, feel free to use your bread machine. Now, on to the crust. I can't stress enough the importance of flattening the crust, and then letting it rest for 10-15 minutes before trying to stretch it into the pan. Otherwise, when you try to press the crust against the sides, it will fall back down toward the center. Finally, I pre-baked the crust for 10 minutes, added cheese, pepperoni and then the tomatoes, and then baked another 30 minutes. The end result... soft and flavorful. Pizzeria style for sure! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Great dough. I actually left mine on the counter a lot longer than 6 hours - more like 14 hours. Dumped into an oiled cast iron skillet and topped as directed - cheese first, Parmesan and mozzarella then some left over double tomato bruschetta and some fresh orange bell peppers. 450 for about 23 minutes was all it took. Very nice. A great dough for busy working mom's and dad's who can make the dough in the morning and have dinner ready in a flash that evening. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I know I changed a little bit in this recipe (oil type and how I made it rise) but I thought others might benefit from what I found out since there are only 2 other reviews. I really wanted to try this crust but I didn't have the 6 hours to wait so I put it in the oven with a pan of boiling water so it would double in size in the time I had (about 3 hours) and it did work. I am sure the slower 6 hour rise would only make a better crust but I did not have the time. I also used canola oil since that is all I had and using corn oil may improve it as well. I plan to try that next time. I didn't have a deep dish pizza pan so I used a pizza stone and a stone with edges so I had a little more of a deep dish and a more normal type crust (I doubled the recipe so I had enough for 2 pizzas). I pre-baked the crust. This made for a crust that was a little crispy on the bottom. If you want a softer crust I imagine you wouldn't want to pre-bake it. I did find that my cheese got really brown though so you might want to add the cheese a little later, especially if you are not pre-baking and want the cheese on top for a more traditional pizza. I added basil and garlic to our crust before baking. We enjoyed this crust and we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I wasn't sure if I wanted to make this since I usually stick to recipes with a lot of ratings/reviews. I am SO GLAD I did. I followed the recipe exactly, made it last weekend, and put it in a freezer ziplock and froze it without letting it rise first. Today (Friday night pizza night), I took it out this morning, and put it in an oiled bowl with a towel over it on the counter. By the time I got home from work, 12 hours later, it was thawed, risen, and ready to go! I put it in a 12 inch springform pan (the only "deep dish" pan I have). I should've made two--it was SUPER thick--like 3 inches (I prebaked it 10 mins, as suggested, added toppings and baked for 20 mins more--perfect!)! Even with the super thickness, my hubby said it's one of the top 5 pizzas he's ever eaten! Totally agree! This is amazing! One of the best cheap, easy dinners I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Handsdown BEST pizza dough I've tried yet. I'm so glad I didnt go my normal route and find a recipe with a million reviews. I doubled the recipe when I made this and was able to make a calzone and two medium sized pizza's. I wasnt able to let it rise for 6 hours I only had 2 hours but it still turned out perfect! Thanks for the recipe owensjo, my journey to find the perfect pizza dough has come to its end!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this for dinner last week and my fiance, who is from Chicago and has very high standards for Chicago-style pizza, loved it! I'm making it again tonight. I would definitely recommend pre-baking the crust, but only for about 5-10 minutes. I also added another 15 minutes to the baking time so the cheese melts nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is great and my dough rose up like the Sear's Tower in Chicago. There is no way it took 6 hrs. I let mine go for 2 hours and that was enough. If I was feeding the Chicago Bear's after the game, this would be the recipe to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Wow, did we love this crust! I made it in my bread machine and added granulated garlic, parmesan and basil. The dough was very sticky, but I added a bit more flour and let it rest for about a half hour. It was easy to press into a pizza pan. I prebaked the crust for about 10 minutes and then put pizza sauce, sausage, pepperoni, bacon, garlic and onions on it topped with mozzarella. It baked perfectly and the crust was very flaky. Definitely our new pizza crust. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Just came back from Chicago and wanted to try to make my own great Chicago style pizza. This crust did the trick. It turned out a wonderful thick flaky tasty crust. First I layered with sliced mozzarella cheese. Then added pepperoni, Italian sausage, black olives and thinly sliced onions. Lastly the sauce went on and some fresh grated parmesan cheese on top. I cooked mine for 40 minutes because it had so many toppings. It was the best pizza I have ever made and I have made a bunch. It rivaled the great pizzas I tried in Chicago. It is thick and rich though, so one decent size slice will fill you up. I cooked mine for 40 minutes because it had so many toppings. Next time I will try prebaking the crust for a few minutes. The crust was great and thoroughly cooked, but I would like to try prebaking it to see if the bottom gets a bit crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Perfect! No more rolling out dough and flour every where. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States