The Popcorn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My husband and I make this cake at Christmas time. We use all different kinds of nuts (mixed nuts in a can), baking chips (chocolate, butterscotch,white chocolate) M&M's. Cut it into chunks and take to gatherings, My in-laws love it and our neice asks for one espcially for her to have and eat. The kids like it too, I will have to make one and add gummy bears to it, sounds good to me. I have never thought of using them until reading these reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
did in 9 x 13 ... without choc, but using peanuts and baking jujubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Yummy and easy, if you let the peanutbutter mixture cool just slighty and add the chocolate chips at the end you shouldn't have a problem with them melting. I spread them out in a cake pan and cut them into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was a disaster! Since others liked it, I'll assume it was the cook. I found the popcorn tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beale Afb, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
i did this a little bit different using the itmes i had onhand. i omitted the peanuts and peanut butter and added orange food coloring to the marshmallow/butter mixture to make them orange for halloween. i added the chocolate chips last to limit some of the melting due to the warm marshmallow mixture. also, i just pressed into a large greased bowl and allowed to cool. it tasted good though my husband could't get over the fact that the orange coloring made it look like cheese popcorn with chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corycooks79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I have made a similar cake like this for years. This was a good recipe, but still like my old favorite. Marshmellows, butter(real butter), vanilla, popcorn, M & Ms and cashews. I salt the popcorn and then the added sweet things are just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Huh? I tried this and the chocolate chips MELTED all over. It was not nearly as pretty as the one I made from Johanna's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I have this recipe and for my daughter while she had braces we adapted it by using the popcorn that is hull-less from the store. We also add gumdrops that you can usually find cheapest at Wal-Mart(do NOT add BLACK..yucky flavor! Add them at the end so they don't melt, we also like to add M&M's- we add them last also. We find it fun to coordinate colors with the seasons. Holiday time with red and green M&M's and red and green gum drops is really fun, esp with my 40-50's singles group! It works for all age groups!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
I made this recipe and sent it to a party I did not attend. The reviews I got back were very positive. I changed the peanuts to peanut butter chips, and I added a few extra chocolate chips. I did not get to taste it but it seemed to be a hit. The only negative words were from my boy friends' 18yr old daughter who wants me to make it with Rice Krispies next time. It looks like a keeper. I want to add, this was the dish I made for the kids at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Éclair Cake

This no-bake cake has layers of deliciousness, and couldn’t be simpler.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States