The Perfect Rib Eye Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
My husband used this marinade last night on some nice looking rib eye steaks and it absolultely ruined them. WAY too much vinigar - completely overpowered out the flavor of the meat. There are other maninade recipes in here that are quite good. Stay away from this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is actually a really good marinade for rib eyes, but DON'T use all that vinegar and follow the instructions on timing. You really only need enough red wine vinegar to coat the steaks which is about 1/4 the amount (depending on how big they are). I put everything into a zip loc bag and let set in the fridge for an HOUR turning it a couple of times - then disgarded the marinade. Let the steaks come to room temperature and then grill. This way you get a nice hint of vinegar and the other flavors also come through - another big plus is the steaks come out tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I read the ratings about some people not liking this because the vinegar was too strong but I only let it marinade for about 45 minutes and then let it cook on low heat for about 45 minutes and it came out so tender! It was definatly a hit and I plan to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Recipes are so dependent on personal tastes. That being said, I am one rib-eye fan who believes that a good rib-eyes needs no marinade. However, this recipe caught my eye so I gave it a shot. You gotta like the taste and aftertaste of the red wine vinegar to enjoy this recipe. I did not care for that flavor, but that's why I started this review the way I did. Any type of vinegar flavor on a good cut of meat is not my favorite. That being said, the rest of the ingredients, coupled with a heavy red wine worked for me the second time around. Most vinegars impart a unique flavor to every dish. This one was too much for me, but that doesn't mean it's bad for another taster. My suggestion is to cut the red wine vinegar at least in half, or one quarter and go from there. Good luck and happy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Love this! We marinated the meat approximately 10 hours. We could definitely taste the red wine vinegar, which may not be to everyones liking, but it certainly was to ours! I wish we had had more time to marinate the meat longer. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I made this for my wife and I last night but I used Tawny Port red wine (had some on hand) and we loved it. I'll definitely use it again, probably with red wine again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Didn't care for this at all. Didn't add anything to the flavor of the beef and we all ended up pouring on the steak sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Used with sirloin and was still very tasty. The red wine vinager was obviously quite potent, I used a little less than the 12 oz. called for. It was a unique taste that is fitting for a summer day. Definetly give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
It was good. I was out of red wine vinegar so I just replaced it with white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
The vinegar was a little too powerful for us. It wasn't bad, but not really what we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States