The Perfect Rib Eye Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious! I like a strong marinade, and I like the taste of red wine vinegar. I followed this recipe exactly except for marinating in the fridge for 6 hours instead of 1. We thought it was delicious. Yes, you're going to taste the marinade--but what's the point of a marinade you can't taste? :) We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Did not like this at all, had to soak it with steak sauce because the vinegar was way roo strong!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
As written I can only give this a 3. Cut the vinegar in half and you have yourself a decent marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Marinade makes the steaks extra tender and extra juicy but for 2 steaks I cut the vinegar down to just under 8oz. Truly i'm not a fan of vinegar and I hate A1 sauce, but even this I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Recipes are so dependent on personal tastes. That being said, I am one rib-eye fan who believes that a good rib-eyes needs no marinade. However, this recipe caught my eye so I gave it a shot. You gotta like the taste and aftertaste of the red wine vinegar to enjoy this recipe. I did not care for that flavor, but that's why I started this review the way I did. Any type of vinegar flavor on a good cut of meat is not my favorite. That being said, the rest of the ingredients, coupled with a heavy red wine worked for me the second time around. Most vinegars impart a unique flavor to every dish. This one was too much for me, but that doesn't mean it's bad for another taster. My suggestion is to cut the red wine vinegar at least in half, or one quarter and go from there. Good luck and happy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Instead of the red wine vinegar I used my favorite red wine which I had on hand already and followed the rest of the recipe, me my friend thought it was a big hit and I will use it again. Hope this helps some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is actually a really good marinade for rib eyes, but DON'T use all that vinegar and follow the instructions on timing. You really only need enough red wine vinegar to coat the steaks which is about 1/4 the amount (depending on how big they are). I put everything into a zip loc bag and let set in the fridge for an HOUR turning it a couple of times - then disgarded the marinade. Let the steaks come to room temperature and then grill. This way you get a nice hint of vinegar and the other flavors also come through - another big plus is the steaks come out tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Bf didn't like this--he said he could taste too much of the vinegar. I halved the amount of vinegar, but it marinated a very long time and it's pretty much his fault. He was supposed to grill them last night, not tonight, so they were sitting in the marinade for an extra 24 hours. I didn't really taste the vinegar, personally, but I also didn't eat much of it. I'm not a beef person. Still, for all his complaining he finished his meat, so that says something. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I used this last night. Just bought a new stove and had to try the broiler. Marinade was killer. Have a steak waiting until I get home - that's been soaking all night. Definite keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I made this for my wife and I last night but I used Tawny Port red wine (had some on hand) and we loved it. I'll definitely use it again, probably with red wine again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States