The Perfect Mai Tai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Been trying to replicate the Mai Tai at my favorite crab restaurant for a while. This has come the closest. Used 2 cups of dark rum and omitted 151. Made my own syrups. Used Triple Sec instead of curacao. 1 1/4 lime juice instead of 10 limes. Orange Pineapple. If storing in the fridge for a while. I won't mix the juice in until serving time. Top with maraschino cherries and an umbrella. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Amazing.... this is the best ever! I didn't change a thing to it. but be careful....it's a tricky one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Ended up serving two gallons of this at a party. It was a HUGE hit. I left out and did not substitute anything for the 151, but served with an extra splash of dark rum floating on top of each glass. I used amaretto for the almond syrup and used 1/2 OJ and 1/2 pineapple juice instead of all OJ. It tasted just like the mai tais we had in Hawaii. These really sneak up on you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Made a batch for a Hawaii 5-0 themed 50th birthday party. Everyone LOVED it, but it really does sneak up on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Made exactly as written for a tailgate party. It was delicious. Because it is fairly strong, I served it over a lot of ice. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
outstanding. i make this a lot, and have the glasses lined up when company comes. everyone raves. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Loved it! It was not overly sweet and the alcohol was hidden within all the deliciousness. Just be careful, after two of these you may not be able to walk a straight line! My only substitution was the 3rd alcohol which I did not have. I just added half light half dark to make up for it. I also used the organic orange juice from Costco, which tastes just like fresh squeezed juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made this as directed, well except without the 151 Rum, for 5 people and we all loved them. We consider ourselves "experts" on Mai Tai's as we go to Hawaii frequently and have them over there and we thought these were on par with the best and very authentic. I had a really hard time finding Orange Curacao in my small town but if you have a BevMo they have everything you could possibly need. Cointreau is very expensive compared to the Orange Curacao which was only around $7 a bottle. These will sneak up on you so be warned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Simple recipe, excellent combination. Use Almond Roca Torani syrup for the Almond Syrup. MMMMmmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is the most FABULOUS Mai Tai concoction I have ever tried and oh look "Party Size"!! Make up a batch throw in an umbrella and a flower and you will feel like you are in Hawaii. YUH-UM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mai Tai Cocktail

See how to make the original Tahiti Mai Tai.

Mai Tai

A tropical cocktail made with coconut rum and pineapple juice.

Blue Hawaiian Cocktail

See how to make a classic tiki cocktail with rum and blue curacao.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States