The Perfect Cream Cheese Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This makes a lovely flaky crust and the amount is perfect for 8 inch pie crusts, but if you do 9 inch crusts you are going to have to divide the dough differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I really don't like giving bad reviews, but I followed this recipe to the letter, and this dough was very sticky and I found it impossible to roll it out. No matter how much flour I used, it stuck to the counter and to my rolling pin. I tried adding a little more flour, to the dough, but that only made it tear easily. I tried chilling it, and it got crumbly. I was disappointed. Perhaps others will have better luck than I did, but I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
If you're having trouble rolling your dough on flour, place your mixture between two sheets of wax paper and roll. Take off one side of the wax paper and place the rolled dough in your pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
For the people who are having issues roling out the pie crust - I've tried this sort of recipe before and it was a pat in the pan type of pie crust. Don't try to roll it out, just put it in the pie pan and pat it out using your fingertips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I used this for the French Silk Chocolate Pie from this site. So yummy!!! I was actually able to ROLL this crust with NO problems! I quartered the recipe, because I have always had horrible luck with pie crusts, and I still have to lose 1/4 a cup of flour. This was fantastic, and I'll be using this recipe from now on!! Finally, a pie crust I can do :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This crust was so yummy, and flaky. I used it for an egg pie I found on this site. I only needed one crust, so I lessened the ingredients to 2oz cream cheese, 1/2 c butter and 1 1/2c flour. It was very dry and not holding together well, so I added a little milk. I took the advice of another reviewer and didn't try to roll the dough out, instead I just pressed it into the pan. It turned out perfect! My ten year old actually ate the crust before the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLYNN78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very good crust, I think it needs to be saltier, add more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vitalismom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Far from perfect. As other reviewers said, needs much more salt. Also, this just completely falls apart and is impossible to roll out, even with your roller and board well floured! Yes, you can press it into your pie plate BUT that does NOT WORK WELL when you need to put the top piece of your pie on. I hope it tastes better than it was to make. Never again. There are too many easy ones to make with pretty much the same ingredients and that is what I will make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HoosierGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I loved this recipe!!! It worked out very well for me... Personally, I am not a fan of the traditional pie crust.. this one has such a better taste to it! If you are wondering how the taste may differ my boyfriend said it tastes more like the outside of a pop tart :-) Good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is the easiest pie crust dough I have ever made or used. Unlike some of the reviewers, I did not find this sticky at all, it rolled out easily and did not tear readily. I used it for a pecan pie, and the only thing I did do differently was brush the floor of the pie crust with some egg white to make sure the bottom of the crust didn't become soupy after baking. The crust was flaky and cut well. I did use more than a "pinch" of salt (I used approx 1/8 teaspoon for a single crust). This recipe is easy to reduce to 1 crust worth of dough. Next time I plan on adding a little vanilla and 2-3 teaspoons of sugar for a fruit pie. I absolutely love this recipe; it is now my "go to" pie crust recipe! Addendum: I think people may not be mixing this long enough and that's why it seems dry. I cream my butter and cr. cheese and then mix in the flour and salt with my hand mixer and literally beat it for 3-4 mins - it will eventually turn from looking like bread crumbs to doughy in appearance. It's at this point that you should stop and make a ball of dough. It's not the least bit sticky and it's possible to roll it out immediately and not use wax paper - it rolls easily. Don't let the reviews scare you away from this recipe - it's easy and is not sticky if you mix it long enough (and it's still flaky when I bake it). Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States