The Perfect Cinnamon Roll Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
i tried this recipe to go with some cinnamon rolls i was baking to bring to work. i made the icing while the rolls were rising, and i started to eat the icing by dipping raspberries. i love it! it's SO good! you will love it too! try it! it's super easy! light and creamy... mmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as stated. It came out perfect. For me, it covered 12 rolls, not 24. I did use buttermilk in the icing only because I had a touch left that I had to use. This was just what I needed--thanks Cara! NOTE: This recipe does not say to sift the powdered/confectioners sugar. I really didn't mess with that but I did run a wisk through it to break down the bigger lumps in the sugar. It just makes for a smoother icing. For those like me who forget to let the cream cheese sit out before using, I let the cream cheese sit in a small bowl on my heating pad (the same one I used to help my rolls rise) on low/medium for 20 minutes or so to soften it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is my recipe - just a note, it will cover 24 tiny rolls or 12 large (like the ones frome the mall). I guess that got left out of the description! Thanks for all who try this - it took a lot of trial and error before I came up with this one. My family loves it and I hope your's will too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Wonderful cinnamon roll icing! It's easy to make and so good you could eat it all by itself. I used a 3 oz. pkg. of cream cheese and decreased the amount of butter a bit. Since I only had skim milk on hand I opted to my husband's half and half. Definitely make sure your butter and cream cheese are softened. I gradually put everything into my kitchen aid mixer and gave it a whirl. This came out so smooth and creamy -perfect for Sunday morning cinnamon rolls. These frost about 12 large rolls, but then again I LOVE icing! Thanks for a great recipe, Cara M.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I like icicing which is fluffy and less thin. This icinig is not creamy but almost the consistency of gloss. I would decrease the liquid next time and also use a little less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My wife made this for some homemade cinnamon buns and it was the best icing I've ever had! I brought them into work and you'd have thought people were starving. She has a homemade roll recipe that uses potato flakes. Look for one online like that and top with this icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I substituted orange juice for the milk and added some orange zest for my sweet rolls and they were AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is fluffy and rich and it tastes great! I will use it on cake and other desserts too! I changed it to 3 ounces of cream cheese instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
YUM! I loved this just as it was written :) but since I'm a cream cheese fanatic, I may add an extra ounce next time. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Perfect title for the "Perfect Cinnamon Roll Icing". My family loved it. I thought it was delicious! I didn't change a thing! And I still loved it! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States