The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Love that these don't include the trans fats via butter/shortening like most cookie recipes. I made mine with white choco chips and thought they were really good! They baked up beautifully and I really like the texture. I added butter flavor extract instead of almond and I think next time will up the dose to 2 teaspoons of butter extract just to reinforce a more buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Sooo yummy! I was looking for a cookie with oil because I had a serious sweet tooth one night and was out of butter. I only changed a few things... I used 2 3/4 cup flour, 1/2 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup applesauce, and used 2 cups of choc chips (I've made these twice so far and the 1st time with 1 cup there weren't nearly enough chips!) They come out soft and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irismay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is an excellent all-purpose recipe that you can tailor to your heart's content. For example, I used maple extract instead of almond for a nice chocolate-maple taste. I used three teaspoons of maple to get a good solid flavor; adjust to your own taste. I also made a batch with peanut butter chips instead of chocolate just for fun. The recipe is versatile enough that you can do just about anything with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
great recipe, made the chocolate chip cookies today and gone on the same day. Thanks for the great recipe. I like the oil better, I used canola oil and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I was hesitant to make these after reading a few not so great reviews, but gave it a try since I was out of butter and needed a veg. oil recipe. SO glad I did! My family loved them, they were a nice thick cookie, nicely crisp on the outside and chewy moist inside. Our new go-to recipe for sure, and so simple, I'm actually not sure how they wouldn't turn out for anyone. 4 star instead of 5 only because I did make a couple of changes, using milk chocolate chips instead of semisweet, and omitting the almond extract in favor of extra vanilla. And they needed to bake for 13 minutes exactly so a little longer than the 8-10 stated- perfect every time and we've made them on 3 different occasions now. Use nice big rounded tablespoons for best results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
TERRIBLE! The worst cookie recipe I have ever made, and I have made A LOT of cookies! I like rying new recipes but I regret trying this one!! In the first place they have no taste at all, completely flavorless except for the chocolate chips. The also bake up like bread, they are puffy and bready more like a muffin. Homemade cookies should be soft and gooey. If you'd like to make some flavorless chocolate chip bread then by all means this is the recipe for you but otherwise keep searching!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I tried this recipe because I needed to bake cookies and didn't have any butter on hand. It worked surprising well. They aren't as flavorful as the buttery ones, but I think oil is healthier anyway. I'll certainly keep this on file for future baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These tasted ok, but overall came out extremely greasy...especially after they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
All I got was a disgusting, lumpy and sandy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Fluffy, good not great cookies. Excellent alternative if you cannot consume dairy or soy (margarine contains soy). This wasn't bad at all. 4 stars because the way I figure it, this is a great, simple jumping off point. a recipe with a solid idea behind it. my sister has been breast feeding and my niece couldn't process milk or soy. So, I used vegan chocolate chips and this recipe. I used apple sauce instead of oil, because I just love it and have plenty. I also used 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup splenda. I reduced the baking soda and did 2 teaspoons vanilla. I may try this again, substituting for sugar and messing around with other ingredients aside from chocolate chips. Keep an eye on your cookies though. It might have been the pan I was using, but they baked up really quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States