The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
i'd been looking for a recipe using oil instead of solid fat, and these are a winner every time i serve them. i don't bother with the almond extract, and hold back about 1/4 cup each of oil and sugar, and use a 1.5T scoop and bake on a Silpat. yields about 31 cookies that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Love this recipe!My whole family love it as well!Thanks for sharing!One question.Could i add peppermint extract to it this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Had no butter or milk so i though i'd give this recipe a try since I was craving a snack. The cookies were good! Since I didn't have chocolate chips either I just froze up some melting chocolate and cut the pieces into tiny chunks. So i guess this was more of a chocolate chunk cookie. Either way it was still very good. (PS. Also: instead of Almond Extract i used Almond Baking Emulsion)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yowcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shar
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Delicious! I stumbled across these when I had a major craving for fresh cookies, but very little butter. I've given it 4 stars because I did modify things a wee bit. I used 1/4 cup melted butter and 3/4 cup canola oil. I eliminated the almond extract because I can't stand the stuff, and increased the vanilla to 1 tbsp instead. I used a combo of white and semi-sweet chocolate chips to use up what I had in the cupboard. I also added 1 cup of rice crispies. Something I've seen before with cookies and they add a bit of extra texture. I used my cookie scoop and baked for about 10 min. If you want a chewy cookie do not leave them in too long, you want them to almost be a bit underdone. These were a huge hit and are sure to be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
YUMMY! Following others' suggestions I added an extra 1/2 cup brown sugar and 2 teasp. of vanilla extract instead 1 of almond. Make sure you cream sugars and oil just like you would butter & sugars, using a hand mixer, for at least 7 mins. Use hand mixer until you add dry ingredients, then use spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magikhnz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Out of butter so I decided to try these. Made them just to the recipie and won't be attempting them again. Not very sweet, would recommend leaving out the almond oil because it leaves a strange taste with the chocolate. Texture is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I am very happy with this recipe. My daughter is allergic to nuts and dairy so using vegetable oil is perfect also after I made this recipe I realized I could substitute vegetable oil for butter in other recipes. Also I used imitation almond extract and they taste very good, my favorite chocolate chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
These turned out great when I only used 3/4 cup oil, took out the almond extract, and added 1/3 cup Herseys dutch chocolate. I also left them in the oven 10 minutes and let them cool on the cookie sheet so that the oil and brown sugar finished baking. I made a batch of these along side ones made with butter and everyone liked both. Some couldn´t even tell which were made with butter and which with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Great recipie! Just chewy enough, I don't like my cookies to be very crispy. There was a bit too much almond extract, I would use half or three quarters of a teaspoon. Also good cookies to experiment with, different kinds of chocolate chips or nuts can be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I'm a cookie monster and had to find a recipe that allows me to eat as many as possible. I had to scour the Internet to find a recipe that used oil.. I read that you can substitute part oil for butter in mostly any ratio you want as long as the wet/dry/fat proportions stay the same as the recipe. I did 1 stick of unsalted butter and about a half cup of vegetable oil. Lessen the amount of almond extract because it takes over! I'd do 1/4 teaspoon almond extract and more vanilla. I also did a little less white sugar and a little more brown. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of instant coffee since I was using a 61 percent vhalrhona bar ! It really accentuated the quality of the chocolate.. This recipe yielded an amazing flat cookie that was crispy on the edges and soft and chewy in the middle. The more amazing part was that these cookies retained their moisture and stayed chewy for days.. Though it really didn't take me that long to eat em all.. Play with this recipe and you will be soo happy.. It seems like the perfect recipe to get all iron chef and add all sorts of things like chilli flakes? Ginger? Black pepper? Toffee? I'm on a cookie rampage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States