The Perfect Basic Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I guess some people didn't read the whole title :-) This was exactly as described. If you wanted the 'perfect sweet burger, or smoke burger, or your personal tastes burger' Then you really should have been tipped off when you read the ingredients that this was as stated 'Basic'. Add what you want, but don't complain that something was exactly what it said it was. Now for the review /rant off. This was tasty, I had my butcher freshly grind the beef for me. The flavour was uncomplicated and worked great for all the guests we had. I set out a variety of traditional and more exotic burger toppings (wasabi mayo alongside ketchup lol). I for one, really prefer to add individual flavour this way instead of in the meat where people can have wildly differing tastes and likes/dislikes and you can't change it after its cooked. Thank you for the post, its in my recipe box :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is exactly as stated "a perfect basic burger". It's simple and if you look at the ingredients the flavor will come from the beef you use, so use a good grade of beef. It also holds the burger together well on the grill. It's almost like what McDonald's uses. This is the perfect base to add some really great condiments. I used cheese, pickles, finely chopped onion, lettuce, tomato and "Best Burger Sauce" from this site. I normally don't do that with other burger recipes from this site because they stand on their own due to the amount of seasonings, spices and other additions. Those call for just lettuce, tomato and bun. You don't want to ruin the flavor with a bunch of condiments. If you're looking for a lot of spice this isn't for you. If you want to experiment with some different toppings or condiments this is the burger to try it on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
very good with condiments. it tasted a little weird plain. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This recipe makes a pretty good burger. It does a nice job of holding together the meat during cooking to make a plump patty that tastes more like a restaurant burger, than homemade. I will definitely be using this one over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
To the folks who say this recipe is "bland", "tasteless" or other such comments... This is a "basic" burger. Some of us have (bachelors) never quite been able to get burgers to the right consistancy and such even BEFORE adding other stuff to it (myself included). If you're looking for something "no frills" that you can experiment with and dress up (either with condiments or extra ingredients), this is what you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
this burger is great... very versatile, i wanted a basic recipe so i could do some sprucing up of my own and they came out great... if you think that they are bland then add you favorite seasonings. Everythings better with a little personalization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Fantastic! Exactly what I was looking for. It did not taste like my meatloaf or meatballs at all (I make sure they are all distinctive). This burger was perfectly seasoned, and complimented all of my toppings (I'm a traditional ketchup, mustard, onions; my husband prefers BBQ sauce and onions) I'm so glad I came upon this recipe. Please note: this recipe is what it says; "basic burger".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I think I would call this a "meatloaf burger". If I try it again I'll add some chopped onion and serve it on sliced bread, no cheese, with a little ketchup/cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Jus average! Kind of had a bit of an from the bread crumbs. If I made it again I would delete the bread crumbs. They were just okay. Not awful, but not "wow" either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States