The Original Treats™ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
As written, this recipe would rate 4 stars for me. With my tweaks, absolutely a 5 star! I use a teeny tiny bit more butter than called for, and all the other measurements in the recipe are the same. Make absolutely sure your butter/marshmallow mixture doesn't brown at all or they won't be as good. I also added a capful of milk (as suggested in the reviews) and a buttload of vanilla. I don't measure, but it was probably about 1.5 tsp or so. To flatten the treats, I use the wet-hands trick and they come out perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Hey guys! I'm wanting to try this recipe but I'm not quite sure if you're supposed to cool in the fridge, or room temperature, or bake and cool. please help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I took the advice of another reader. Upped the butter and used less cereal. I also added vanilla. Delicious and always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Recipe was easy and clean up was a breeze. I used a tip in one of the reviews I read ( add the butter & marshmallow mix to the cereal and not the other way around). This was so simple my kids are wanting to make this themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Solid recipe, *but* if you are making these with the gluten free cereal, you might want to consider adding vanilla or some flavoring. The taste is not as good as the original version. Really missing that malt taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ayngyl
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was so easy to make, I had never made these and was surprised at how easy and how few ingredients it took. They tasted great! We added green food color for St. Patricks day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made very slight adjustments...I used 5 cups of cereal instead 6, and 4 Tbs of butter instead of 3. I separated 1 cup of marshmallows from the rest and mixed it in with the dry cereal. I microwaved the butter and marshmallow mix and poured it into the cereal instead of the other way around as well. That being said, I had NO problem with the finished mix sticking to the container when pouring into my pan. Cleanup was a cinch, and the finished product tasted more like the Starbucks rice krispies, with chunks of gooey marshmallow in each piece. Hubby LOVED them and I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Classic recipe, tried and true! I make these often and usually add 1/2 cup of chocolate chips at the very end. This time I used a heart cookie cutter and then dipped them in chocolate...heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made "for the grandkids" with cocoa krispies and chocolate marshmallows. Good thing we taught those little kids to share! Lots of variations available now with the flavored marshmallows on the market. Just be sure to use butter and not the stuff that comes in the tubs. The water in the spreads will ruin your Treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
One of my two favorite treats, in the world! I make the recipe exactly as written. This year, I used this recipe as a base for a Christmas treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States