The Original Treats™ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
As written I give this a four. I have tried it this way and we just prefer the recipe I have from the 60s or 70s. My daughter's friends at college go crazy over that earlier version. It uses 4 Tablespoons of butter, 1(10 oz) bag of marshmallows and 5 cups of rice crispies. This recipe is more marshmallowy and not so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I make this recipe every year at Halloween for 300 people, so I've learned how to make them fast! Don't hesitate to use the microwave version - you'll never go back to the old way again. Other cereal favorites include cocoa krispies and "fruity pebbles" (generics are equally good). My super-secret tip: Pour the melted mix over the cereal (in a huge plastic mixing bowl) and not the other way - the cereal dust coats the plastic bowl and prevents the marshmallow (and everything else) from sticking to the bowl. Great ideas for add-ins everyone! I'll try the peanut butter this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
this recipe is great.. but i usually add 2ml of vanilla to the recipe... if you use diet/light margarine, it turns out soggy and tends to be extra sticky(not in a good way)... and i noticed some margarines do the same, so stick to butter to be on the safe side... also... use the microwave method... ever since i've tried the microwave method, i never went back to the stove top... it's quicker and it's not as messy... but when microwaving-- first, put in the the butter until it melts (approx. 30 sec) then coat the marshmallows in the butter and microwave until it looks ALMOST completely melted (approx 1-1.5 mins) then stir until the marshmallows are completely melted. then add the vanilla, stir again, and then toss in the cereal... if you don't want it as gooey, add another cup of cereal... enjoy!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I noticed everyone putting their suggestions on how to flatten the mix into the pan - my tried and true way -I butter my hands...just like putting on lotion and flatten it with my hands...works like a charm EVERY time. Makes a classic treat even easier to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Came out GREAT! I used butter and a little orange food coloring. I buttered up my hands, shaped them into carrots and stuck a green piece of sour licorice onto the end for a stem. We served them at my son's kindergarten Petter Rabbit play. They were an absolute hit! Not a single one was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
So good! I always double this by using a whole box (12.5 oz) of Rice Krispies, 16oz mini marshmallow, 1 stick of butter, and I put it all into one since 9x13 pan for extra thick treats. I pack in and smooth out treats by pressing into pan with a piece of wax paper. So easy and neat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I learned from a friend of mine to stir in peanut butter chips at the last. Oh, boy. Is that HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
MMMM!!!! So delicious...I didn't change a thing. All I did was used wax paper in a 9x13 pan and melted semisweet chocolate filled one side of the pan, put that in the fridge. Once it firmed up I buttered my hands and put the treats in the pan. The cut easily and the ones with the chocolate base were heavenly!!!! Will make many times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I ended up adding 6 cups rice krispies, 4 1/2 tablespoons butter, and 2 teaspoons of vanilla. Husband and kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I love these things. I always have to make double this just to have enough for myself. I find these need to be eaten same day or day after, if you wait too long they go rock hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States