The Original Treats™ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
These are probably my all-time favorite sweet treat! I add about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the melted marshmallows for a flavor twist. People always ask what the mystery flavor is and agree that it adds something special. I also don't like gooey treats, so I mix in an extra cup of cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Absolutely yummy. Used a bag of the flavored mini-marshmallows instead, because that's what we had. After they were done, I frosted them to use for my daughter's birthday. It was too hot to bake a cake - used the microwave recipe. Worked out wonderfully! If you attempt to frost, I recommend a THIN layer of frosting, or they are way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
tastes just like Kelloggs Rice Krispy Treats. A very great recipie to serve to kids and family. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This recipe was very easy and tasty! I added about 1/4 tsp vanilla and used the microwave method of cooking for simplicity. Adding the melted marshmellow mixture to the rice crispies in a large bowl worked out well, but you still have to work fast to get the mixture in a 9x13 pan. I used a large metal serving spoon to flatten out the mixture into the pan to help condense it firmly into the pan. I drizzled melted milk chocolate chips on top for extra flavoring. You will then need to refridgerate the rice crispy treats with the chocolate on top to get the chocolate to harden again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
this recipe is great.. but i usually add 2ml of vanilla to the recipe... if you use diet/light margarine, it turns out soggy and tends to be extra sticky(not in a good way)... and i noticed some margarines do the same, so stick to butter to be on the safe side... also... use the microwave method... ever since i've tried the microwave method, i never went back to the stove top... it's quicker and it's not as messy... but when microwaving-- first, put in the the butter until it melts (approx. 30 sec) then coat the marshmallows in the butter and microwave until it looks ALMOST completely melted (approx 1-1.5 mins) then stir until the marshmallows are completely melted. then add the vanilla, stir again, and then toss in the cereal... if you don't want it as gooey, add another cup of cereal... enjoy!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I melted some Hersey's milk chocolate over the treats - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I used 4 cups rice krispies and 2 cups Kix (thanks kids). I also added holiday shapes and chocolate chips, which melted into the marshmallows anyway, but made it tasty and colorful. I dont' really like Rice Krispies Treats, but I love these, of course, modified. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
What am I doing wrong? Am I the only one who can't make rice krispies? Mine turned out extremely soggy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Rice Crispie Treats are sooo good. I haven't had them in sooo long. They took a little while to become completely hard enough to cut, but they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
For Valentine's Day, I added red food coloring and used a heart cookie cutter. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States