The Original Donair From the East Coast of Canada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
OK, I read the reviews, scrutinized the ingredients, and adjusted the recipe accordingly. We're sort of middle-of-the-road on spicy food (maybe 6 on a scale of 10), and I just knew that 2 tsp of cayenne for 1 lb of ground beef was going to be too much for us. I added only 1/2 tsp and, yes, you definitely still could taste the cayenne. We're not too much into super sweet things these days, so I also cut the sugar in half for the sauce which worked out perfectly (personal taste preference). I mixed the milk and the sugar with my battery-operated whisk, gradually added the vinegar, and ended up with a beautifully-textured sauce. I had concerns about the sauce, but the combination of the savory meat and the sweet sauce was perfectly balanced. This was my first Donair, but it won't be the last. This is a keeper and is going into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Almost perfect. The spice level is fine with me if I was the only one eating it. Unfortunately, not always the case so I would start with half the cayenne and taste testing it by frying a mini meatball size, then adjusting to taste. Depending on how much sauce you use, it may be perfect as is. I add 1 tsp of garlic powder to the sauce, but that's just my preference. This also goes great with tzatziki sauce too and pretty closely mimics the taste of gyro meat without the spit and the ingredients are budget friendly, accessible and good for all levels of cooking skills. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Turned out perfect with half the Cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've made this recipe a couple times. It's turned out every time. If you have problems with the sauce try adding the vinegar, stir once or twice and let sit for a bit. Kind of like making buttermilk. Or use sweet condensed milk for a really thick sauce. I add garlic to both. Have fun with it and try making your own pita breads:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy N Jason Reid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Good basic build recipe. The sauce needs garlic powder and white pepper though to be more in line with the real deal in Halifax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
WAAAAAY too hot. It's so spicy that you can't even taste the meat. It was so uncomfortable to eat. I should have followed my instincts and cut the cayenne in half, but I stupidly followed the recipe to a T. I'd cut the cayenne waaaaay down. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made this for my friend tonight, who has had donairs across the planet. This rated a million stars by his account, and mine! I doubled the recipe and kept the cayenne to 2 tsp. -also, the sauce did not require the whole 1/4 C., the taste method was a great tip. Thank you so much, I will make many more Donairs in the future! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I added spinach leaves, diced tomatoes, and feta cheese to my Donair sandwich, may not be the original, but it's very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Made this exactly as it recipe calls for the first time. It was great. Very spicy, and sauce was a little runny. Next time, cut back to 1/4 of the cayenne, and I used (out of necessity) condensed sweetened milk 2/3 c plus 1/4 c white vinegar and 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Sauce was thicker. Great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Simply delicious . Makes a fantastic quick meal .Might even replace my regular friday pizza...it will definately be added to my homemade pizza .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States