The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
By utilizing the suggestions of previous reviewers and adding a couple of my own, this pie turned out beautifully. I'll definitely be making this pie again and again. Here's what I recommend. 1) Taste your strawberries first to determine how sweet they are. This will help you decide how much sugar to use. 2) As suggested by a previous reviewer, discard the excess sugar, flour and cornstarch mixture to prevent your pie from becoming goopy and soupy. 3) Make a brown sugar oatmeal crumble topping for your pie by combining one stick of butter, 1 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup oatmeal, 3/4 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and a pinch of salt. The topping will be beautiful and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This pie was very easy and very sweet! I thought the crumble topping might taste better made with brown sugar?! It seemed to harden up a lot and not really "crumble". I may try brown sugar next time I make it. Also, a tip if you have extra flour, sugar and cornstarch that does not mix in completely with the strawberries throw it out and do not add it to the pie. I made that mistake and it all sunk to the bottom of the pie so there was a thick layer of white gooey liquid at the bottom. Other than that it was a quick and delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This was the best strawberry pie I've ever had! I didn't know if I'd like a baked strawberry pie, as I'd only had the fresh, unbaked kind before but this was fantastic! As soon as I sampled my first slice I was already planning to bake another!!! Incidentally, I prefer it chilled and not eaten warm, as I believe you taste the flavors better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
A pie that doesn't turn out is worthy of *no* stars. Not even if the topping was good, which this was. I should have expected it. A half cup of flour and a tablespoon of cornstarch is waaaaay too much thickener for four cups of ANY kind of fruit and I should have followed my gut and trusted my 50 years of baking experience. I even used five cups of berries and it still was a pasty, raw floury, unappetizing goo. (This literally WAS inedible - I'm not exaggerating merely to stress a point) It was a beautiful pie, I'll give it that, because the crust was great (Harden Your Arteries Pie Crust) and the topping was beautiful and delicious. But the disaster is obvious immediately upon cutting into it. Had this recipe called for half the amount of thickener I might have ended up with a decent pie, but the recipe is what it is and, if prepared as is with the error in the ingredients, is simply awful and a failure. (For those of you who are interested, I have posted a personal photo of the cut slice which is worth a thousand words)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Since some reviewers commented on the sweetness of the pie, I halved the sugar+flour+cornstarch mixture for the strawberries and slightly drained it on the side before putting the filling in - that helped a lot on the 'runny filling' problem, but it didn't help on the sweetness at all! If you want it less sweet, make sure you cut on the sugar in the crumb topping, because that's what's overly sweet. Also, the pie was white/yellow and rough (I could taste the granular sugar even though I sifted it), so definitely use brown sugar (sifted) for a better texture. Overall, if it weren't for the filling, this would've tasted like chunks of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I cut down on the sugar just a bit after reading reviews. I was unsure as to what to do with the leftover cornstarch/flour mixture once the berries were coated, so I tossed it out and I think that was the right thing to do (rather than putting it in the pie). I'll make this pie often! It's the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This pie is fantastic!! I added blueberries and turned it into a fresh berry pie. The crumb topping is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
This is a great recipe. I go pick fresh strawberries at the local u-pick berry farm and then use them to make this pie. I made one and brought it to work and my co-workers loved it! Helpful hint: After you make it, let it sit overnight in the fridge and let everything meld together and get very cold. Tastes great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshHarvest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
This pie looked very nice and bubly coming out of the oven. I followed the advice of another reviewer and did not mound the strawberries so much, I'm glad I spread the berries out a bit. It took a turn for the worst when being served, it did not look too great on the plate, even if I let it cool down considerably. Nevertheless, it tasted great! We had the pie warm with ice cream on the side, what a treat! I will make this again and add more nutmeg to the topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2004
One of the few recipes worthy of stars. Outstanding pie. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States