The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Made this for my husband's birthday and have a feeling it will be sorely missed if not made again. PS: It was gone in 2 days. :) Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKWildflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was a yummy pie, I thought the crumb topping was perfect and I made it exactly as written. Reading reviews I knew to not add the excess flour/sugar/starch mix: I let my berries sit for 10 or so minutes before I put them in and the extra coating they took thickened the pie up more than it should have, so I imagine adding everything would cause lots of problems. Next time I'll just add more berries to the coating and really fill the bottom crust. I had no problem with the pie being too sweet. Brown sugar may be good in here too but this is a delicious pie made as-is without all the flour mix: Thanks so very much for sharing, this was a hit at Thanksgiving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Starr Pollock
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
My hubby and I loved this pie. I thought it was a little too sweet, but he thought it was perfect. Next time I will try to make it less sweet. I didn't cook it the full time, but I should have. I was scared to burn the topping. I will be making this again! Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr Pollock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This pie is simply wonderful...almost worth letting strawberries get a little sad on purpose just to have an excuse to make it! My only suggestion is using slightly less strawberries than the recipe calls for by up to half...I preferred the consistency better and it took less time to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaisyLou09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was fantastic. I normally don't enjoy strawberry pie, but I loved that this was baked. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is very good. I added the zest of a lemon to the berry filling. Next time I will add more than four cups of strawberries for a fuller pie. I used the topping ingredients, but put them in the food processor instead of blending them so they would be more crumbly. Both times I've served it, people were surprised to see a baked strawberry pie - but they loved it! Fresh whipped cream puts it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I make a significant amount of baking. This one is easy and tasty. Everyone loves it so far. I just didn't use the butter to dot the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
FABULOUS! This pie was so good it was gone the moment it cooled enough to eat. I only changed one part of the recipe...the topping. I took the suggestion from another user and did a basic crumble for the top (butter, oats, flour, brown sugar). This made the desert a pie/crisp that everyone loved! I did use all the leftover cornstarch, turned out good with little "goo", next time I probably will not add that. A must try and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
If I could I would give this pie ten stars. I have never baked strawberry pies before. The topping made the difference. I added sugar sprinkles to it just before baking was complete. From now on I will use this kind of topping on all of my fruit pies. At this moment I have a nectarine pie in the oven. It is looking like a master piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAPRINCESSA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This pie has now become a tradition in my household. When I make it, I not just make one, I make 2 or 3 because everyone loves it so much that I share. Another poster mentioned not piling the strawberries up so high, but I've found, after making this so many times, that that partnered with the topping, is what holds the pie together when slicing. It's still usually a sloppy sort of pie, but the piling most definitely helps. Thanks so much, Scatterflake, for posting. I consider this a very valuable recipe and have now made it one of my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAPRINCESSA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States