The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Found this recipe last spring, and it has become a favorite. Did not change a thing (except I use Pillsbury pie crust when I don't have time to make crust). A beautiful, simple, delicous pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Good pie I made this for mothers day. I made several modifications. 1 used frozen deep dish pie crust, 2 used 7 cups of strawberries with the tops cut off and cut in half, 3 once coated with the mixture I dumped the remaining mix in the trash as recommended in several other reviews, 4 I made an oat topping, not oatmeal but Quaker oats using butter, brown sugar, etc. Everyone loved it both cold and warmed with ice cream. The only reason that I give this recipe 4 stars is because after all the changes it is not the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I have made multiple strawberry pie recipes from this site and this one is by far my favorite. This is going to by my strawberry pie recipe from now on. I made it exactly as written and it was wonderful. Wish I would have found this recipe earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Great recipe! Did not change a thing. :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This pie is great. Followed advice threw out extra flour mix on fruit and made topping with brown sugar and oatmeal, flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glenns Ferry, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
very liguid, i was very dissapointed. followed receipt to the dot. can not understant it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
SO GOOD!!! Awesome especially with whipped cream and/or ice cream. Only thing I didn't like was that the topping didn't completely cover the top of the pie, so you could see part of the pie underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was great!! I used enough of the cornstarch/flour/sugar mixture to coat the berries really well, but did not pour it all in the crust. It was so good, so pretty, and delicious chilled. It cut into perfect slices that held together on the plate. Will DEFINITELY be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I have made this pie for family gatherings for over 7 years now, and it is always a big hit. I have always followed the recipe exactly and it always turns out great without any of the issues i have read in the other reviews. The only thing I have changed a couple of times is the sugar when the strawberries are already really sweet but living in Minnesota that doesn't happen often. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I would rate this a 5 but as others suggested, do not mix to much of the flour, cornstarch ect with berries for they do tend to get suggy after baking. I did add a little more berries and sugar (brown) since my berries were slightly bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States