The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as suggested and it was excellent. It IS sweet; it's a very old-fashioned, simple recipe. It reminds me of something my grandmother would have made. I suppose you could do without some of the sugar, but with summer-fresh berries, you can splurge once in a while. I made it today for Father's Day, and it's just about gone (even though there were several other desserts). I did heap the berries, and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This pie was amazing and so easy to put together. The crunch of the crumble on top was a nice contrast to the strawberries. I may have to make this a spring tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Awesome! My husband called it cobbler pie and it is reminicent of cobbler. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Delicious! I made this pie for a Memorial Day community picnic and received nothing but raves. The pie was made as originally written and left no gooey white layer. The crumb topping turned out lightly brown and beautiful. I will be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was a BIG hit at my Memorial Day BBQ! Everyone LOVED IT! My only minor complaint is with the directions as written. First when making the topping and you are mixing the flour/sugar mixture with the butter, it does NOT get fluffy. Mix with a fork or pasty cutter or even a mixer to a crumble. Second, after coating the strawberries in the flour/sugar/cornstartch mixture, coat well, then disgard the extra flour mixute. Do not put it all in the pie shell, it is too much thickener. Aside from that, it was easy and tasted great. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This is not the prettiest pie but it is soooo good! I make it at least once or twice every summer. Be sure and bake this on a cookie sheet because it can bubble over a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
While I typically take the suggestions of other reviewers, I, thankfully, did not this time. Don't waste your efforts making an oatmeal topping as others suggest. Follow the recipe exactly, with the exception of the last minute sugar addition during the last 10 minutes of baking if strawberrys are already sweet enough and enjoy!!! It was excellent and so much better than the gooey gelatin versions of strawberry pie you see so often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This turned out really good.I followed the suggestions from another reviewer and cut back on the sugar in the berries.They were sweet to begin with.I also used her topping made with brown sugar, oatmeal, butter, flour and cinnamon. I thickened my strawberries with quick tapioca instead of flour just because thats the way I've always thickened my fruit pies. I will bake this pie agan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Best...strawberry...pie....ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Came out so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States