The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I used a Pillsbury pie crust and it was mushy. Also, I needed 1 cp more berries than called for. The strawberries were at their peak of flavor, but the pie turned out to be only so-so. I followed the recipe exactly and it seems the higher ratings came from people who changed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snyder, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I used this recipe as base to build on. I made two pie crusts. Then I put the sugar, cornstarch, and flour in a bowl. I found it easier to roll the strawberries a few at a time in the mixture (stir mixture well). Then I placed them in the first pie crust. I then basket wove the second pie crust for the top. Next I lightly squeezed a lemon over the pie. I melted butter, mixed butter with nutmeg and cinnamon; which I brushed on the basket weave. This turned out amazing. Today I am making it again, to my husband's request. Only this time I don't have a lemon , so I sprinkled 3 tbps hard apple cider over the filling before doing the basket weave. It's in the oven, I think it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
great recipe. It did need some tweeking as others suggested I reduced the sugar and replaced half of the sugar on top with brown sugar. Other than that it was fabulous. best eaten at room temperature..tried it cold from the fridge the next day but the crust and topping wasn't as crisp. Ideally done about 5 hours before serving. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magalie76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Fabulous, but I did make some changes. I made a cream cheese crust, and then used the oatmeal streusel topping as suggested by another reviewer. For the strawberries, I added juice from a lemon and lemon zest, and then once I put the filling in, I decided more was needed so I added a cup of blueberries just over the top before I added the streusal - baked as directed and the result was an absolute winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Prepared and cooked it just like the recipe said and it came out perfect! Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Amazing!! One of my favorite pies ever! I've made 6 this week for friends. The thing I like to do differently is cook the strawberries and filling in a pan with a little orange juice. I have an easier time with making it the perfect consistency that way. Love it! Thank you for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarfoot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This pie is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as it's written, as I always do the first time I make a new recipe. This pie was so good that our 10 year old daughter told a friend who called while we were eating it, "You need to come over here and try this awesome pie my dad just made". It's very unusally, but very good. I've never had a baked strawberry pie before, but we WILL have it again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Craigsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was unbelievable. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lynn Shapiro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Oh my this was amazing i followed another review about an oatmeal struddle topping. My boyfriend and i had no idea you could bake a strawberry pie. this was so good. I look forward to making it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I made this pie for my anniversary dinner with my husband and it was delectable! I did use 1/2 C of brown sugar in the topping as per other suggestions. I wasn't sure if I should serve it hot or cold, so I chose cold with vanilla ice cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States