The Most Incredible Pancake Bites Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I followed the recipe as close as I could, only using cow's milk instead of soy milk. This needed about a 1/2 more milk than it called for. I had the same problem that everyone else did with a dense pancake that rose beautifully but struggled to cook and were a little rubbery. I think part of that is that it might have needed even more milk than I added and I had to mix it more than I would have liked to incorporate the extra milk. I'd like to try this again, with a few changes. I think it could be as good as the title states, with the right amount of milk. Kind of a sad day in this house as we're serious pancake worshipers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Ok Jeff, these are realllly goood. The only reason i didn't give 5 stars was because the liquid portion is off. I halved the recipe and I had to add a lot more soy milk than called for to get to a consistency that was workable. Without this modification my batter was like cookie dough. I didn't have the vanilla powdered creamer but suppose it was accomodated for in the soy milk which was vanilla flavored. Thank you Jeff, I will definately make these again, perhaps trying a little cardamom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I wondered onto the site this morning looking for a way to jazz up my regular old pancakes and this recipe was just the trick! I left out the creamer, substituted skim milk for the soy and, like other had suggested, doubled the liquid ingredients. They were very yummy! Definitely had to watch them closely as they didn't bubble like regular pancakes do when they're ready to be flipped. Great recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I rate recipes based on their idea not their exactness so if you're looking for someone who followed the recipe exactly, keep looking. Had run out of eggs for our usual weekend brunch and had a random box of buttermilk pancake mix and a boyfriend who doesn't like pancakes so I wanted to jazz them up. I halved the recipe but more than doubled the milk. Used about triple actually (closer to package direction quantity.) And I used skim milk cause that's what I had. I used straight cinnamon instead of cinnamon sugar and replaced most of the powdered creamer with granulated "vanilla sugar" which I use to top specialty coffees usually. I used the good stuff for the vanilla extract but doubled it to make up for the creamer. I used creamed honey... don't know if that's any different but again it's what I had. I figured more or less the recipe came out the same as if I'd followed exactly (except maybe the milk). The pancakes were thick but fluffy in texture and absorbed the syrup well. They didn't bubble but were easy to time on medium heat. The mixture was thicker than I was used to, even after doubling the milk but it turned out very well. Boyfriend who hates pancakes asked me to make them again! This will definitely stay in my cookbook. Thanks Jeff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Great recipe...these are a great breakfast treat! The only problem I found was the soy milk measurements...I had to put alot more than the 1/2 cup. But other than that this was a fabulous idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
These were very, very yummy. The kids loved them. DD said these are the best pancakes she's ever had. I found myself reaching for more than a couple and I am not a pancake fan. I used about 1/4 c. liquid hazelnut creamer since that's what I had, and added it to the milk in measuring. I did use significantly more milk than the recipe called for. For the cinnamon and sugar, I used them separately and estimated. I was heavy handed on the sugar. We will definitely make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
The finished product was dry and slightly gritty. I was afraid they were going to be too sweet for breakfast, but they weren't very sweet considering all the sweeteners that are them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I gave this four stars because I made alterations to the recipe. First, I did not add the French Vanilla powdered stuff, and I used reduced fat milk instead of soy. These alterations resulted in a dense [doubles in height] yet fluffy pancake that tastes great, although it did not 'absorb' the syrup as much as I would've liked. I also did not measure the ingredients, I made this recipe before and the measurements were off so I winged it. =) Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Noorvik, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I just used regular milk in this bc that's what we have. I didn't use water and had liquid creamer so I just poured in some of that. I also didn't measure the milk but I have to agree with other reviewers who say you need more than 3/4 c of liquid in this. These are nice little pancakes with good cinnamon flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
My boyfriend and I were looking for a pancake recipe that didn't require eggs, and I happen to have soy milk, so this recipe was perfect! We made the pancakes quite a bit bigger than bite sized, and like the other reviews said to do, used a ton more soy milk then called for. They turned out great! Much tastier than plain pancake mix. I'll be sure to use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States