The Most Incredible Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This had to be by far the best garlic bread ever! The only thing I changed was that I used Italien Bread instead and just made big slices. Me and my finace' both agreed that this will be made again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Paffel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very good bread! I only had extra virgin olive oil, and I was afraid that the flavor from that would be too strong, so I decided to use half softened butter and half olive oil and the results were DELICIOUS!!! Creamy, buttery, cheesy goodness! I will be using this recipe a lot, I'm sure! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Yummy delicious! All of these comments on husband didn't like, bf likes, who cares. If they make it, then they can rate their own cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Yum, yum, yum! I cut a loaf of bread horizantally instead of slicing it. I had no problems mixing my oil with the cream cheese, guess I'm lucky. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
We enjoyed this very much. I have no idea how many ounces were in my loaf, so I used half the amount of olive oil. I used whipped cream cheese spread, and preroasted minced garlic. EDIT: 11/12/09 I don't bother making any other kind of garlic bread anymore. I don't measure it, I just whip the ingredients together with the cream cheese and smear it on. I use all sorts of bread. Sometimes I think about trying another kind of garlic bread...but then I think, "This recipe needs cream cheese..." and I come back to this one over and over. The original amount of "stuff" for 1 lb of bread is still too much, IMO, but that's easily remedied by just..not putting as thick a layer on :) EDIT: Footnote...Use a fork to mix the cream cheese & olive oil. Smash the cream cheese with the tines of the fork, this even works with cold brick-style cream cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was so-so. I really enjoy garlic bread, but thought the preparation method (and taste) to be mediocre compared to my "stand by" recipe. I think it was the cream cheese.... My bf didn't care for this either (but he doesn't care for cream cheese...). I halved lalala71's recipe (cut about 6 slices of bread from a 16 oz. French loaf). I did use 3 oz. of cream cheese (1/2 the recipe would have called for 2 oz., but since I had a 3 oz. block on hand, I used all of it) and a full tablespoon of garlic because we LOVE a strong garlic flavor. I have one suggestion for anyone trying this. I found that softening my cream cheese in the microwave first, then adding it (and the spices/garlic) to my food processor and pulsing as I slowly poured in the olive oil kept my spread from separating as others have mentioned. Oh, and I don't think the olive oil "drizzle" is necessary (don't waste good olive oil for this, IMHO). An overall neat idea, but not for me/us. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The addition of cream cheese to this was like texture heaven for me. So creamy and really great flavor. I'll make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I love this but my husband thinks it is just pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I really liked it. It was a little heavy with the pasta dish I made, but i would make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very good. Different is what the bf said. I agree; not my usual method of making garlic bread with cream cheese. We both liked it though. Put the mixture on Oat-Bran Bread I'd made a few days ago. Very nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States