The Most Delicious Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This was GREAT! I made this for Thanksgiving Day. Everyone LOVED it! I had to triple the recipe and give everyone some to take home. I did make some changes that made it a little easier. I microwaved the bacon, saved the drippings and put it in a skillet, then added the onions and 2 tbl. spoons of the cider ving. and sugar, then I sauted them and poured the boiled greenbeans into a caserole dish and poured the bacon drippings mixure over the green beans, then I added walnuts instead of slivered almonds and I cut up the bacon and mixed everything together into the caserole dish and refrigerated it over night, then I baked it on 350 for 30 minutes right before the dinner was served. Everyone loved it so much that they all wanted to take some home. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Super super good! I used canned beans, sliced the onions really thin on my mandolin and broke up the bacon to sprinkle on top! Will DEFINITELY make this again......and again.....Thanks Vicki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
My husband really loved this! He thought the onions in it was cabbage...it was reminiscent of hot German sweet & sour cabbage. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I served these Easter and everyone loved them. I used brown sugar instead of white. Next time I will cut the bacon in smaller pieces. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
I had this recipe at a friends house for dinner last weekend. They are so very tasty. I would definately make them for a crowd. The almonds were left out but it still had 100% flavor! Even my picky husband liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I've been making this for years and you can also do the simpler, quicker version (using same amts. - except for sugar). Using a large pan, cut the bacon in smaller, bite size pieces. Cook bacon - put aside - cook onion in bacon fat until it starts to brown, then add vinegar, stir,add cooked fresh green beans or canned, add the bacon, season with pepper. As a note: I never added sugar - I might try that and amount of vinegar for your taste. I prefer plain old white vinegar with this dish. This is a good dish to make ahead because the flavor gets more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
I am not a big cooked-veggie fan, but this was really wonderful! I tried it in the winter, and am looking forward to making it again this summer. Try this!! You'll love it and so will your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I made the dish exactly as indicated for my family and everyone loved it! It's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
this was really good; I followed the directions exactly except I cooked the onion in the bacon grease. Also it marinated for 2 nights but still turned out delicious. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Huge hit at Thanksgiving dinner. I did saute the onions in the bacon drippings and substitute brown sugar for the white. The in-laws were impressed and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States