The Most Delicious Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I've been using this recipe for family get-togethers for the past couple of years, and it's never failed to garner rave reviews! I prefer to use brown sugar, and for an interesting variation, try adding 1 tsp. of maple syrup. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I think this dish is awesome. You can always reduce the suger and vinegar to your liking but I recommend using the original amount first. I did cook the onions in the grease. My husband is not a "die hard" bacon lover like my family. However, he loved them. I made these 3 years for Thanksgiving and they were gobbled up. They were gone this turkey day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I made this for a group and many of them said they liked it. I would not make it again though by my tastes. I wished I would have taken out half the grease, and decreased the amount of sugar. Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
My husband was blown away with this recipe...he said, "I can eat this anytime!" We both agreed with other reviewers that the bacon should be cut into smaller pieces, either before or after cooking. I think I would make another change and pour most of the marinade over the green beans/onions in the casserole dish then mix, then layer on the bacon and pour a remaining dab of marinade over the bacon. Most of my marinade ended up on only the bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I used frozen beans, and it was still very good, although I want to try it with fresh. I cut the bacon into smaller, bit-sized pieces, and then as other reviews suggested fried the onions in the bacon fat, which made them really delicious. The tang of the vinegar was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I took these to mom's for Thanksgiving - received rave reviews. I was asked to bring them every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
These are the mosty tasty green beans on the planet! I made a few modifications based on previous reviews. First, I cut the bacon into small-ish cubes. Then, I sauteed the onions in the bacon fat. I used fairly lean bacon, so there was not too much grease. I put the sauteed onions & bacon in the pan, and made the marinade separately as the instructions call for. Leaving the beans to marinate overnight is THE BEST way to get a really good flavor. Fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Next time, I will not use so many onions and leave out the apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
These were great! I also sauteed the onions since for me, the more cooked the better when it comes to onions, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Although these green beans are probably not the healthiest, they are the tastiest. The recipe sounds a little odd, but you've got to try this! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I served this with Christmas dinner. It tasted very good. I did have concerns, though, about using so much bacon grease. I don't think I'll serve this again since my conscience got the best of me for serving so much fat in a vegetable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States