The Most Delicious Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I've been making this for years and you can also do the simpler, quicker version (using same amts. - except for sugar). Using a large pan, cut the bacon in smaller, bite size pieces. Cook bacon - put aside - cook onion in bacon fat until it starts to brown, then add vinegar, stir,add cooked fresh green beans or canned, add the bacon, season with pepper. As a note: I never added sugar - I might try that and amount of vinegar for your taste. I prefer plain old white vinegar with this dish. This is a good dish to make ahead because the flavor gets more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
These are the mosty tasty green beans on the planet! I made a few modifications based on previous reviews. First, I cut the bacon into small-ish cubes. Then, I sauteed the onions in the bacon fat. I used fairly lean bacon, so there was not too much grease. I put the sauteed onions & bacon in the pan, and made the marinade separately as the instructions call for. Leaving the beans to marinate overnight is THE BEST way to get a really good flavor. Fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
My husband really loved this! He thought the onions in it was cabbage...it was reminiscent of hot German sweet & sour cabbage. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
My husband was blown away with this recipe...he said, "I can eat this anytime!" We both agreed with other reviewers that the bacon should be cut into smaller pieces, either before or after cooking. I think I would make another change and pour most of the marinade over the green beans/onions in the casserole dish then mix, then layer on the bacon and pour a remaining dab of marinade over the bacon. Most of my marinade ended up on only the bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I used frozen beans, and it was still very good, although I want to try it with fresh. I cut the bacon into smaller, bit-sized pieces, and then as other reviews suggested fried the onions in the bacon fat, which made them really delicious. The tang of the vinegar was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This was GREAT! I made this for Thanksgiving Day. Everyone LOVED it! I had to triple the recipe and give everyone some to take home. I did make some changes that made it a little easier. I microwaved the bacon, saved the drippings and put it in a skillet, then added the onions and 2 tbl. spoons of the cider ving. and sugar, then I sauted them and poured the boiled greenbeans into a caserole dish and poured the bacon drippings mixure over the green beans, then I added walnuts instead of slivered almonds and I cut up the bacon and mixed everything together into the caserole dish and refrigerated it over night, then I baked it on 350 for 30 minutes right before the dinner was served. Everyone loved it so much that they all wanted to take some home. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
I had this recipe at a friends house for dinner last weekend. They are so very tasty. I would definately make them for a crowd. The almonds were left out but it still had 100% flavor! Even my picky husband liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I've been using this recipe for family get-togethers for the past couple of years, and it's never failed to garner rave reviews! I prefer to use brown sugar, and for an interesting variation, try adding 1 tsp. of maple syrup. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Very good, and even better when made with pepper bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good. Very well liked. A little sweet so will decrease the sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States