The Most Delicious Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AnneHJ
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Loved these green beans and I'll definitely make them again. I took the recommendation of a few other reviewers and halved the sugar, and I subbed in Stevia instead of regular sugar. I also didn't have almonds so I subbed walnuts. Tasted great. I let the mixture chill in the fridge for about 6 hours (instead of just 1 or overnight) and was happy with the flavor. The only drawback is the chilling time - this dish definitely isn't a last-minute quick dinner fix. I really liked it though and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made these last year at Christmas. The flavor was a huge hit, but the "fresh" green beans were a little tough. At XMas time, North American Green beans are older and tougher, while the South American product hasn't come in yet. Sooooo. If you're cooking this at the holidays, I heartily recommend using a quality canned or frozen green bean. I used canned this year and cut back the cooking time to 35 minutes total. Absolutely NO negative comments this year. This will be my "go to" green bean recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I tried this for Thanksgiving using frozen green beans from my summer garden. This was delicious-even my sister the green bean hater loved it. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Love! Made some of the changes that were suggested including crumbling the bacon and making it the night before. It was a hit. My entire family loved it. I toasted the almonds separately and added they at the last minute. They added a good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Delicious. I used a bacon cooker to cook the bacon in the microwave. I followed other reviewers suggestion to cook the onion prior to baking. I used a tsp of the reserved bacon grease in a nonstick skillet. I layered the ingredients as stated. I warmed the vinegar and sugar in a glass measuring cup with about 1 tb. of the reserved grease. I let this marinate over night. Wow was it good and lower calories than the original. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good, kinda like Texas Road house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I cut back the amount of sugar, omitted the onions and also followed the "quick" version another user suggested. LOVED THESE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peigi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made this as a side dish for Thanksgiving and it got rave reviews by my family. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this not realizing I needed to have it marinate overnight...still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Alstott Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I was looking for a quick and easy recipe for fresh green beans. My family (husband and son) LOVED it. I used a lot less bacon and bacon grease, and I sauteed my onions before putting them over the green beans as previously suggested and it worked wonderfully. This is the dish I will be taking to the Easter gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States