The Most Delicious Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made these last year at Christmas. The flavor was a huge hit, but the "fresh" green beans were a little tough. At XMas time, North American Green beans are older and tougher, while the South American product hasn't come in yet. Sooooo. If you're cooking this at the holidays, I heartily recommend using a quality canned or frozen green bean. I used canned this year and cut back the cooking time to 35 minutes total. Absolutely NO negative comments this year. This will be my "go to" green bean recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I tried this for Thanksgiving using frozen green beans from my summer garden. This was delicious-even my sister the green bean hater loved it. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Love! Made some of the changes that were suggested including crumbling the bacon and making it the night before. It was a hit. My entire family loved it. I toasted the almonds separately and added they at the last minute. They added a good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Delicious. I used a bacon cooker to cook the bacon in the microwave. I followed other reviewers suggestion to cook the onion prior to baking. I used a tsp of the reserved bacon grease in a nonstick skillet. I layered the ingredients as stated. I warmed the vinegar and sugar in a glass measuring cup with about 1 tb. of the reserved grease. I let this marinate over night. Wow was it good and lower calories than the original. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good, kinda like Texas Road house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I cut back the amount of sugar, omitted the onions and also followed the "quick" version another user suggested. LOVED THESE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peigi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made this as a side dish for Thanksgiving and it got rave reviews by my family. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this not realizing I needed to have it marinate overnight...still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Alstott Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I was looking for a quick and easy recipe for fresh green beans. My family (husband and son) LOVED it. I used a lot less bacon and bacon grease, and I sauteed my onions before putting them over the green beans as previously suggested and it worked wonderfully. This is the dish I will be taking to the Easter gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Very yummy recipe!! Definitely a different type of greens beans, everyone loved it. I made it for Christmas!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States