The Irish Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
It was SO bland. I added extra onion and seasoned every layer with parsley, salt, and pepper. I also added crushed red pepper and chives just because I enjoy big flavor and it seemed a bit light. Still after the first bite I realized this just didn't work, it just wanted something, It felt very unfinished my husband and kids felt the same way. Since I had tons leftover the next day I decided to try a couple options to save it since I hate waste. I added cheese, garlic powder, and more red pepper and baked it until cheese melted, it helped a bit. I also flattened them into patties and added garlic salt and fried them in butter, that was the best save and actually very good but this recipe is still not worth making again in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made as directed and they came out perfect, although it never did bubble as the recipe stated. My family thoroughly enjoyed this dish. When I make again, I will be increasing the amount of onions, otherwise I will leave it as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by SPIDERWIFE
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Unbelievably delicious!! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is really good! Nice basic flavors, which make it a comforting dish. Only changes I make are using sweet onions, and adding a little cheddar cheese on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Made this for 6 adults, and this disappeared, nothing is left - it was a huge hit! I followed the advice of adding paprika with each layer, which worked out great. It's basic in flavors, which is why it's so good. The only thing I might do a bit different next time would be to very lightly sauté the onions before layering the dish. Thanks, I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I used red potatoes and loved this recipe! It was rich and buttery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this dish in honour of St.Patrick's Day. It was quite delicious! I added garlic salt to one layer and I substituted the whipping cream (as I didn't have any) with cream cheese, thinning it with a few tablespoons of milk. I was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
These were really good! Very creamy! Great side dish to grilled steaks. We will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I thought this was delicious and paired with a lean protein and some other veggies, isn't that out of line for a dinner as far as calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Thanks for sharing Lilly from Philly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States