The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Mmmmmmm! Comfort food at its best. I omitted the cheese to reduce the calories/fat content further and it tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Ross Shin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I made this with ground turkey and my family loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I rarely use ground turkey so I didn't know what to expect. Added a dash of garlic to the potatoes. Seasoned the meat with garlic, parsley and Lowry's salt as I prefer things more seasoned than the recipe calls for. Otherwise I prepared it just the way the recipe is written and we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
For what I wanted, this was perfect. I just made my own gravy and added some more spices (parsley, garlic powder, mixed up salt). Instead of milk in the potatoes, I added sour cream and used red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very average dish. Not a whole lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was so easy and quick to make. I am excited to try new variations with different cheeses and different vegetable mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I added sour cream to the mashed potatoes and Pampered Chef Rosemary Plus seasoning to the turkey mixture. This is a quick and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was delish and super easy however next time I will use fresh veggies. Frozen veggies made this dish a bit watery and the veggies were not as crisp as fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was so good, the kiddos, who have never had shepherd's pie and were a little skeptical, went back for seconds! I only had one necessary change: I've never bought a gravy mix, so I scraped all the turkey and onion to one side of the pan, made a roux of butter and flour, added a spoonful of chicken "Better Than Bouillon", and finished the gravy with milk, boiling to a nice consistency before adding the turkey back in. The results were very tasty! I can't say if I'd like it as much with a packaged gravy mix... prepackaged sauces just don't taste good to me. But this was a definite comfort food keeper recipe! Thanks, Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Pretty good. I think I added too much Worch. sauce as others mentioned, but I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States