The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I USED INSTANT MASHED POTATOES AND CORN AND PEAS. IN ADDITION, I ADDED A TBLSP OF POULTRY SEASONING. I OMITTED THE ONION AS MY HUSBAND WON'T EAT COOKED ONIONS. IT WAS WONDERFUL. HE ALSO DOESN'T LIKE GROUND TURKEY, BUT NEVER NOTICED IT WAS TURKEY UNTIL AFTER HIS SECOND HELPING WHEN I TOLD HIM! IT WILL BE A REGULAR IN MY KITCHEN!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was not good at all to me. It was very bland and just did not taste good. Others that tried it did not like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyhmn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zillyAK
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Excellent comfort food. I used 2lb ground beef and sauteed with 1 lg onion and 1/2 a large red bell pepper seasoned liberally with garlic and 5 peppercorn pepper then added 2 packages brown gravy mix. Put that in a 9x13 baking dish and layered 1 can each of peas, corn, green beans and carrots. Topped with instant garlic mashed potatoes made with milk and about 8oz of mexican blend cheese on top and baked until cheese was brown. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made this last week and it came out great! We've been trying to do more with ground turkey so this was a welcome change from the same old thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Great recipe. So easy! I wish I had of boiled the potatoes for a shorter amount of time but I love my potatoes lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
There's nothing special about this dish. Just good, hearty, homemade comfort made easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
LOVE this recipe! I didn't have ground turkey so I used ground beef. Tonight I made it for the second time using peas and carrots. The first time I used corn, green beans, and carrots. I also didn't beat the mashed potatoes with an electric mixer. When the milk is added, it's so soft and mushy you can get away with mashing it by hand. Using the mixer made my first try way too watery. My husband added minced garlic to the meat and seasoned it with salt before putting everything together. Because of that, I didn't put any salt on the potatoes. I halved the butter and used maybe 1.5 cups of cheese. My 15-year-old daughter ate until her stomach hurt! Usually, she eats like a bird at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The addition of the gravy was genius in a shepherd's pie. Not sure why I didn't think of it before. This is a good, basic recipe. Easy to make with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was fantastic, my family really enjoyed it. We get home pretty late so anytime I can serve something they really like and it "sticks to the ribs" I am pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious! I added in some garlic salt to my potatoes and used mixed veggies instead of the peas and carrots. I also don't think the cheese is necessary on top as I didn't think it really added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States