The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I made this with ground turkey and my family loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I rarely use ground turkey so I didn't know what to expect. Added a dash of garlic to the potatoes. Seasoned the meat with garlic, parsley and Lowry's salt as I prefer things more seasoned than the recipe calls for. Otherwise I prepared it just the way the recipe is written and we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
For what I wanted, this was perfect. I just made my own gravy and added some more spices (parsley, garlic powder, mixed up salt). Instead of milk in the potatoes, I added sour cream and used red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very average dish. Not a whole lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was so easy and quick to make. I am excited to try new variations with different cheeses and different vegetable mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I added sour cream to the mashed potatoes and Pampered Chef Rosemary Plus seasoning to the turkey mixture. This is a quick and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was delish and super easy however next time I will use fresh veggies. Frozen veggies made this dish a bit watery and the veggies were not as crisp as fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was so good, the kiddos, who have never had shepherd's pie and were a little skeptical, went back for seconds! I only had one necessary change: I've never bought a gravy mix, so I scraped all the turkey and onion to one side of the pan, made a roux of butter and flour, added a spoonful of chicken "Better Than Bouillon", and finished the gravy with milk, boiling to a nice consistency before adding the turkey back in. The results were very tasty! I can't say if I'd like it as much with a packaged gravy mix... prepackaged sauces just don't taste good to me. But this was a definite comfort food keeper recipe! Thanks, Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Pretty good. I think I added too much Worch. sauce as others mentioned, but I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Really the best! Added the worcestershire sauce as someone else recommended and the dried oregano. I found I had to add a little bit more water as it was cooking on the stovetop, since it got too thick too fast. Also, had leftover mashed potatoes from the day before, so I added sharp white grated cheddar, and at the end sprinkled it with paprika before putting in oven. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States