The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. I used instant mashed potatoes, frozen asparagus, corn carrot mixture, some rosemary and salt and pepper. I had mozzarella instead of cheddar - Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was such an amazing shepherds pie!!! I cooked the onions separately from the meat and added mushrooms in with them. I also added carrots that i pre steamed to make sure they would be done enough! This is a great base recipe and you can pretty much use whatever veggies you have! I will def. be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Your picture shows green beans instead of peas, which I would actually prefer. Some shredded carrots would add color and flavor. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was fast and easy. I used instant garlic and herb mashed potatoes. I also used ground turkey and a low sodium gravy mix. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This recipe is called Humble Shepherd, not Shepherd's Pie. Another reviewer (we won't say who) rated the recipe based on the name? Please...rate on taste, not the title. It kills the ratings for great recipes when you do such things. Lighten up and enjoy eating something new and different! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
The title perfectly describes this recipe and offers a good starting point. I too added Worceshire and garlic to the recipe. I don't like gravy mixes and made my own with a basic roux and boullion. I used the premade "Simply Potatoes" as I didn't have time to make my own and hate the "flakes." I topped it off with sharp cheddar and placed it under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I did add my own veggies, instead of frozen, my own herbs and made the fresh mashed. This one is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great recipe! Delicious! Looks like someone started Ocktoberfest early! Instruction number five is a repeat of number four! Prost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danatboise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
great recipe but I did make some adjustments only because I didn't have the calling ingredients. I used boxed creamy butter mashed potatoes and cooked it according to the box instcutions. And I also used 1 packet of brown gravy mix for the turkey meat instead. Everything tasted wonderful and I love having leftovers of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This recipe has its pluses and minuses. On the good side, it's very quick if you don't have a lot of time to make a meal, especially when using instant mashed taters. On the bad side, I wasn't wowed by flavor. It wasn't terrible, but it needs some zip. I added tarragon when I was cooking my turkey. I also used veggie broth as the "gravy" since I don't buy the instant gravy. Adding a bit of ketchup at the table gave it some decent flavor. Perhaps I'll tweap it with tomatoes in my next version. I would do again, but with changes for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galfriday

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States