The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This is great for a cold day! We've been making this for years and I love how you can prepare it ahead of time and bake later. It also transports well. I've found we enjoy it best with extra flavors mixed into the mashed potatoes (garlic, onion, chives, etc.) and use cheese lightly. :) Love the recipe Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Loved it! Turned out fabulous...even the leftovers were awesome! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
My girlfriend and I love this recipe! Don't tell my Welsh mom, but I enjoy this shepherd as much as her original. Easy to mix it up a little - we use extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil, use more vegetables than meat and potatoes, and throw in some garlic and white pepper. I am sure there are other fun combos you can make, but the base of this recipe is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
this was very good just like mum use to make we have had two people make this and great both time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kenthurst, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Excellent recipe. Thanks a lot for having this here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Ann Longoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gonzales, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This dish was so good! We had it in the middle of winter. I made cheese biscuits to go with it. My husband said it was one of the best things I'd ever cooked for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Council Grove, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I wanted to make this really bad, when i got to the cupboard I only had 1 chicken gravy, so i mixed 1 package of chicken gravy with 1 package of mushroom gravy, i cooked the ground turkey in EVOO, minced garlic, paprika, and italian seasoning, it was perfect, excellent. I also seasoned the potatoes, i cheated and used instant, but them added garlic salt and black pepper, my veggies were corn and green beans. Man, this was mouth-watering! Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
My husband loves this! I changed a few things - Instead of gravy, I mixed the turkey with bbq sauce. I also added garlic to the mashed potatoes, and used corn as the vegetable. I topped with cheddar and colby. It was great. I love this recipe because it's easy to substitute what you've got on hand. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
We loved this, even my fussy toddler. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
i was skeptical at first about this recipe, but i was very pleasantly surprised! it is very easy to make and its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States