The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made this for dinner the other night to rave reviews. I made the following changes: -used one jar of prepared turkey gravy and omitted the water and gravy mix -used instant mashed potatoes (6 servings)prepared according to the box instructions -doubled the onion called for. -used mixed vegetable (corn, carrots, lima beans, peas) -added a spoonful of worschestshire -added rosemary and garlic -topped with one cup mild cheddar and broiled it until the chees was bubbly. We fought over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Otter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I did add my own veggies, instead of frozen, my own herbs and made the fresh mashed. This one is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
With the only seasonings being salt and pepper, I imagined this would be a very dull dish. I made lots of adjustments, adding garlic, white pepper, and worchestershire sauce to the turkey to spice it up. It was great, I think this is a good template recipe that is easily adjusted to your palette, but isnt much on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrbedpost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I was skeptical of this recipe to be honest, but I was VERY pleasantly surprised. I didn't measure anything, but did for sure cut back on butter. Made it (a little) healthier also by using less cheese, nf milk and extra lean ground turkey. Used fresh steamed peas/carrots. Added garlic, oregano, red and black pepper, and a good amount of Worcestershire sauce. I'm not a meat and potatoes kind of girl, but I loved this and the darling boyfriend was a huge fan. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was so good, the kiddos, who have never had shepherd's pie and were a little skeptical, went back for seconds! I only had one necessary change: I've never bought a gravy mix, so I scraped all the turkey and onion to one side of the pan, made a roux of butter and flour, added a spoonful of chicken "Better Than Bouillon", and finished the gravy with milk, boiling to a nice consistency before adding the turkey back in. The results were very tasty! I can't say if I'd like it as much with a packaged gravy mix... prepackaged sauces just don't taste good to me. But this was a definite comfort food keeper recipe! Thanks, Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Easy to substitute with. I used frozen corn and some green pepper for the veggies. Also, I didn't have gravy mix...so I used a mix of BBQ sauce, whirschire sauce, and chiptole spice blend to mix into the meat mixture. The longer it sits the better. Great make ahead meal and reheat the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Finally a Shepherd Pie I like! I used ground beef because that's what I had thawed. Since some reviewers felt it lacked flavor, I added a generous amount of garlic salt and Italian seasoning. I only had a brown gravy packet, so I used that and just one rather than two. I would think 2 packets of gravy would be a bit much. I also used mixed veggies rather than just carrots and peas. The result was yummy and enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Very good. I've made it twice now, and the only thing I did differently the second time was use less milk because the potatoes were a bit on the runny side the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiminnows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
For what I wanted, this was perfect. I just made my own gravy and added some more spices (parsley, garlic powder, mixed up salt). Instead of milk in the potatoes, I added sour cream and used red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
this was very good just like mum use to make we have had two people make this and great both time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kenthurst, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States