The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
We found the recipe excellent, but wonder why turkey gravy mix was not used. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Al

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very tasty. I thought this was a very good recipe. The only thing I would add is worcestershire sauce to the turkey gravy. Otherwise, it was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I was skeptical of this recipe to be honest, but I was VERY pleasantly surprised. I didn't measure anything, but did for sure cut back on butter. Made it (a little) healthier also by using less cheese, nf milk and extra lean ground turkey. Used fresh steamed peas/carrots. Added garlic, oregano, red and black pepper, and a good amount of Worcestershire sauce. I'm not a meat and potatoes kind of girl, but I loved this and the darling boyfriend was a huge fan. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I substituted instant potatoes and had my kids help me make it. It was great. I doubled everything because we are a family of nine who always seem to have dinner guests. Everyone (11 people) was full and said it was great! Another family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D. D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was quite a different version that what my family is used to. We did like it alot, but everyone voted that it was not as good as my tomato based Shepherd Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is pretty good. Like other reviewers noted, it's a little bland, but that's not necessarily a bad thing sometimes - if you are in a meat and potatos mood. Otherwise, you might want to spice it up. My only complaint is that you shouldn't add 1 cup of milk unless you like your potatos runny. It should say, add milk as needed. Next time I'll probably half the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Even thte left-overs are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PromQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Finally a Shepherd Pie I like! I used ground beef because that's what I had thawed. Since some reviewers felt it lacked flavor, I added a generous amount of garlic salt and Italian seasoning. I only had a brown gravy packet, so I used that and just one rather than two. I would think 2 packets of gravy would be a bit much. I also used mixed veggies rather than just carrots and peas. The result was yummy and enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is pretty good, for the amount of effort you have to put in. It's still pretty bland. 4 stars because it's a very modifiable recipe. Don't be shy to change the vegetables to your liking, as just about anything will go with this. I don't keep gravy packets, so I simmered in turkey boullion, added a few spices (dill, tarragon), and thickened with corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
My husband and I thought this was good, but it lacked a lot of flavor. Next time, we'll attempt to make it with a bit more flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States