The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is definitely a meat & potatoes meal! I used the turkey but because I had Italian sausage I needed to use, I added it to the turkey. I also added a can of corn, can of peas and chopped up two fresh carrots cuz I didn't have frozen. I threw in 4 garlic cloves and the worchestire sauce as recommended by others. Instead of the chicken gravy mix, I had brown gravy mix I needed to use, so I did. I did not add any butter or milk to the mashed potatoes but added fat free cream cheese for creamy mashed potatoes. I topped off this meal with fat free cheese. This was very good and hearty. Just a tad high on the sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Mmmmmmm! Comfort food at its best. I omitted the cheese to reduce the calories/fat content further and it tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Ross Shin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I made this with ground turkey and my family loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I rarely use ground turkey so I didn't know what to expect. Added a dash of garlic to the potatoes. Seasoned the meat with garlic, parsley and Lowry's salt as I prefer things more seasoned than the recipe calls for. Otherwise I prepared it just the way the recipe is written and we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
For what I wanted, this was perfect. I just made my own gravy and added some more spices (parsley, garlic powder, mixed up salt). Instead of milk in the potatoes, I added sour cream and used red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very average dish. Not a whole lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was so easy and quick to make. I am excited to try new variations with different cheeses and different vegetable mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I added sour cream to the mashed potatoes and Pampered Chef Rosemary Plus seasoning to the turkey mixture. This is a quick and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was delish and super easy however next time I will use fresh veggies. Frozen veggies made this dish a bit watery and the veggies were not as crisp as fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was so good, the kiddos, who have never had shepherd's pie and were a little skeptical, went back for seconds! I only had one necessary change: I've never bought a gravy mix, so I scraped all the turkey and onion to one side of the pan, made a roux of butter and flour, added a spoonful of chicken "Better Than Bouillon", and finished the gravy with milk, boiling to a nice consistency before adding the turkey back in. The results were very tasty! I can't say if I'd like it as much with a packaged gravy mix... prepackaged sauces just don't taste good to me. But this was a definite comfort food keeper recipe! Thanks, Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States