The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Super easy! Especially, since I used instant mashed potatoes for the weekday meal. I used 1 package of instant chickengravy mix and the other half some homemade ham gravy I already had. Absolutely no need to add any salt will all the gravy and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I used ground turkey as the recipe calls and I added garlic powder and natures season season blend and lots of pepper.the added veggies I included were cut green beans and corn..and the gravy, I used turkey gravy from Campbell. I used 2 cans. the flavor is just right..it's not too salty or too peppery.. I will re-use this recipe over and over again..I am very happy with the outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie LaFlair

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
amazing! soooooo good! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa Tingle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Good base recipe. Made a larger pan (13X9)so increased amount of everything. Added celery, cooked it with the onion and turkey meat. Added worcestershire sauce and garlic powder to the turkey mixture while cooking also. Made a roux with the turkey drippings, flour, butter, water, and about 1/4 cup milk.Used fresh broccoli, steamed a bit until crispy tender. Used cheddar cheese. Omitted frozen vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italianmamaof4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I used frozen peas and fresh steamed carrots,a jar of prepared gravy,chicken sausage,two tablespoons of butter to keep the fat content down,also nonfat milk.and as someone suggested don't add the whole cup of milk,add it gradually or you might get soupy mashed potatoes.I used the prepared pie shell and baked it at 375 for 40 minutes in a 9 inch round baking dish.I sprinkled a blend of italian cheese the last ten minutes.we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike
Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I love this easy recipe. Changed a few things: used ground beef and I added Worshestire sauce to it. We did not use chicken gravy. Next time I am going to try ground sausage. This dish is fast to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estes Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Very good and the left overs were great as well. Nice meal to make at the beginning of the week. A little time consuming but it hit all the marks of a home-cooked comfort food dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is so good and easy to make. I used two packages of Idahoan intant potatoes (homestyle) instead of making mashed potatoes from scratch. I was able to throw this together within about 20 minutes plus baking time. My husband LOVED it and so did I! I also added fresh celery because I love it so much. I totally recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great taste,, however i would not recommend you use an electric mixer as it makes the mashed potatoes runny !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Very good! I usually make shepard's pie with ground beef and beef broth mixed with tomato paste, but tonight I had ground turkey thawing. I saw this recipe, thought I would try it. Excellent with the chicken gravy and ground turkey! I left the cheese off (dairy -free). I have made it with a light sprinkling of parmesan cheese on top during the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States