The Greatest Grilled Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is so simple, yet fantastic. My first grilled turkey, and it is perfect, moist & tender. My twist: I used the double-pan method as prescribed to catch the drippings, but in the outer pan I laid several strips of uncooked bacon at each end outside of the inner drip pan. This gave the turkey a faint smoked flavor along with the Italian seasonings. Best turkey I ever cooked, this will now be my preferred method. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Couple suggestions: Over the direct heat I like to put a pan of soaked woodchips; I like mesquite for a strong smoky flavor. You can use oak if you want a milder smokey flavor. I also like to baste with a mop while it cooks, or keep a pan of liquid somewhere in the grill for humidity. The mop I typically use is a simple eastern North Carolina, of cider vinegar, molasses, dry mustard, some other seasonings depending upon what mood I am in. Sometimes I also stuff pats of butter down under the skin, or slices of raw bacon or saltpork to add flavor while the turkey cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I have been grilling whole turkeys for T-Day for almost 20 years. Two things I do differently: I cover the ends of the legs with foil for the first 2 hours; and I will put either whole fresh herbs (sage, parsley & rosemary) or a peeled orange, or 1/2 peeled onion in the cavity for the whole roasting time. Discard before carving the turkey. Bon apetit! gobble gobble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I put sliced oranges with whole cloves into the cavity of the turkey, cook it upside down for the first 1/2 of the cooking time, then turn it over to finish cooking. This adds great flavor, keeps the bird moist and adds flavor to the drippings for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very delicious & easy. I watched the grill temp to keep it at about 300. Yummy slightly smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
We decided to try grilling our turkey this year for Thanksgiving, it was great! Everyone loved it and its so easy. We'll be cooking our turkeys like this from now on. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Wow for Grilled Turkey! It was so simple, so very good, so very moist. Gave me a free oven to do as I please.I did not do the Italian spice..I put the apple,chuncked orange, fresh sage,onion,celery & garlic in the cavity. Brushed w/melted butter. Put some white wine in the roasting pan. Used it for the broth for my gravy. We will NEVER cook a turkey in the oven again. Thanks again Allrecipes. Happy Holidays..Nana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I had to post this to this recipe because it is the closest to what I did. I used a turkey brine from this site by (sheri gailey). After the brine process of 20 hrs. I grilled my turkey over charcoals and oak wood using indirect heat for about 4hrs it was the bomb!!!. after the brine process believe it or not there was no need for any extra seasoning (for real!!) my process of what I did is on the reviews of the TURKEY BRINE RECIPE) from this site. truly one of the best turkeys I have ever cooked. Ps. and I grilled it directly on the grate to really get that grilled flavor. Ok now I'm done.UPDATE 11/23/07 I DID THE GRILLED TURKEY AGAIN THIS YEAR VERY GOOD, ONLY CHANGE THE BRINE PROCESS THIS TIME, CAME OUT AS GREAT AS THE FIRST TIME!!! 10++++ STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Wonderful idea. I have been grilling turkeys for about 10 years now and found one more simple hint that just kicks a turkey over the top. Before you grill the turkey cut up some apples (any kind will do). Just cut up and core. Leaving the skins is fine. While you are grilling the juice in the apples will evaporate and merge into the turkey giving the smoky flavor a very moist apple flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Question Please!?? Do you cover the Turkey???? txs'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States