The Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I have been making this ever since I put it in my recipe box 13 years ago. Instead of adding onions, I add onion soup mix to the ground beef when browning it. I deglaze the pan with red wine and let it reduce before adding it to the mix. I use steamed frozen veggies (corn, carrots, and beans) and instant potatoes (sour cream and chives variety). Sometimes I mash up a can of diced potatoes to give the instant potatoes some texture. An easy and crowd-pleasing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sharonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I added 3 tablesppons of Wostershire and some French fried onions. Everyone LOVED it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
My husband is not a picky eater but rarely does he go back for seconds. He did with this one. I used fresh beans and carrots that I par-cooked and added about half the cheese to the potatoes after mashing them. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Replace canned vegetables with frozen and fresh. I made this a couple of times with different vegetables and each time this turned out great. Add 1/2 t. each of salt, pepper, garlic powder, and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I made this last night & my family loved it. I made 2 changes: I used 2 lb. ground beef, and I used corn instead of carrots (kids aren't big carrot fans). My husband, my son, and even my picky teen daughter liked it, and that's saying something! I also used instant mashed potatoes--butter & herb flavor. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilred
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I did quite a bit of changes and added a few things. I added some garlic, cumin and coriander to the beef, changed the canned vegetables for fresh vegetables, added mushrooms, added a tbsp of herb and garlic cream cheese to the mashed potatoes and I omitted the cheese so that it doesn't have so many calories cause the cheese alone was 326 calories. It is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilred

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
It was literally just how I rated it, ok. Just not visually appealing for small family members, also I strongly, strongly recommend using either frozen or fresh veggies instead of the canned! Along with everyone else's advice to add garlic powder to the meat, it might be an ok dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
It is absolutely creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ender Mako

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was great for a quick week night dinner! I used fresh carrots and mashed my potatoes with butter, milk, and some salt and pepper. The only thing I would do differently is add some seasoning to the ground beef next time as well (salt, pepper, and garlic powder). Otherwise this was really tasty and filling! We decided it was like Hamburger-Helper/Shepherd's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States