The Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
Looking at the recipe, my husband didn't think he would like it, but it ended up being a hit in my family! The cheese, mushroom soup and tomato soup really set it off for a nice filling meal! No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Delicious and different -in a good way! I also made my own mashed potatoes using white and sweet potatoes that I make with milk, s&p, butter, and I also mixed in shredded cheddar cheese which came out so good, I'd make it alone as a side dish. I would almost double the ground beef next time though, my husban and I agreed it could use more. The only other thing I changed was, I used garlic flavored cream of mushroom soup- I know! I didn't know they made it either! Definitely use a big casserole pan, this is a lot of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Valente

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. Mine was actually almost too flavorful because I dressed up the potatoes with garlic, margarine, and chives. I'm looking forward to trying many different combinations of veggies and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is a favorite of mine! I used garlic mashed potatoes. This dish is the perfect comfort food, and tastes good as leftovers. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikita223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very good! Even though I was unsure about the tomato soup and cream of mushroom, the dish came out great. I didnt have cheddar so I used the only cheese I had (white american slices)and it was very complimentary! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is actually QUITE good. It is VERY filling. It reheats well in a pan. I added garlic to the meat when browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This recipe is excellent, I made this and my husband and I Loved it, the only things I changed were veggies I used peas & corn cuz that's what I had, I mixed the cheese in with the potatoes like others suggested and added a 3/4 of a can milk to the mixture to make the sauce a little creamier it has become a house hold favorite... I just Love the ajustability of it if you have or want to try something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha Noel Abbott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
That my husband and daughter liked this and they hate casseroles makes it a winner! I think it reminds them of the Hamburger Helper I won't buy anymore and they miss. I only substituted cream of celery for the mushroom, and frozen green beans and corn. This is a versatile dish that you can change up depending on what's in the cabinet and freezer. I would also suggest using can gravy if you have no cream soups. Less sodium. Next time I'll try the boxed potatoes, but it was still a pretty quick and easy dish. It helps that I always keep browned and drained ground beef in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was a really fabulous recipe. I made a few changes... For one, I left the potatoes cubed, (it seemed too much like shephard's pie with them mashed), and only used four, substituting the other four with sweet potatoes. It sounds odd but it was a big hit considering my husband does not like casserol. I also used fresh vegetables instead of canned and added a little garlic and chili powder to give it a littel extra flavor. I stirred the cheddar cheese in with the mixture rather than having all the hard, burned cheese on top. Great recipe for experimenting. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
It is absolutely creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firecat14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States