The Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Delicious and different -in a good way! I also made my own mashed potatoes using white and sweet potatoes that I make with milk, s&p, butter, and I also mixed in shredded cheddar cheese which came out so good, I'd make it alone as a side dish. I would almost double the ground beef next time though, my husban and I agreed it could use more. The only other thing I changed was, I used garlic flavored cream of mushroom soup- I know! I didn't know they made it either! Definitely use a big casserole pan, this is a lot of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homebrewmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good stick to your rib dinner....I changed it a tad by using half ground beef and half pork sausage and added garlic while browning. A wonderful potluck dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
A normal casserole. Will make again, just to fill in the space between fantastic dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This turned out really good - family loved it. I didn't have an onion, so I added dry onion soup mix to the two soups, I only had fresh carrots, so no beans, I sprinkled in a little chilli powder and celery salt. I added cream cheese to the mashed potatoes. And only did a very small sprinkling of shredded cheese on top for a pretty gold effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was very good it sure is a nice change from Shepard's pie. I as others said mixed chili powder in with the soup mix then the meat,my husband said it gave it a nice flavor.I will be making this part of a regular recipe I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. Mine was actually almost too flavorful because I dressed up the potatoes with garlic, margarine, and chives. I'm looking forward to trying many different combinations of veggies and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is a fabulous, filling casserole. I added a can of corn and used instant mashed potatoes. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyparker216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Was yummy, family liked, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was a really fabulous recipe. I made a few changes... For one, I left the potatoes cubed, (it seemed too much like shephard's pie with them mashed), and only used four, substituting the other four with sweet potatoes. It sounds odd but it was a big hit considering my husband does not like casserol. I also used fresh vegetables instead of canned and added a little garlic and chili powder to give it a littel extra flavor. I stirred the cheddar cheese in with the mixture rather than having all the hard, burned cheese on top. Great recipe for experimenting. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I didn't have tomato soup, so I substituted with tomato paste and water. I don't know if it would have made a difference if I had used tomato soup, but I was not a fan of this dish. I mixed extra cheese in my mashed potatoes, along with milk, butter, salt, pepper, and sour cream. The whole dish was bland, even though I did add garlic powder. My husband thought it was not bad, but my kids wouldn't eat it. I even tried adding ketchup for them per a previous review. The only one who ate it up was my 16 month old, but he eats just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States