The Captain's Famous Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is an amazing recipe. I followed the recipe closely except for the file powder(couldn't find it). I added the red snapper in the last 30 minutes like others suggested and it came out perfect. Thanks RKOZEL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I didn't use snapper or mushroom stock. I used andouille sausage, shrimp and chicken broth. But the flavors of the jambalaya and texture of the rice were OUTSTANDING! File powder is worth finding. Excellent recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
The dish turned out perfect. I added a little more spice then suggested because i like it spicy and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Excellent dish! Takes some time, but is well worth it. Super filling, delicious and soul warming. TIP: pre-soak the brown rice overnight, and then drain before adding. This makes it much quicker to cook, and easier to manage the amount of liquid in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
With a few tweaks this turned out great, but I can't see how it would take an hour to cook the chunks of fish. I added mine (I used cod plus a few shrimp) about 20 mins towards the end of the cook time, and that was perfect. Other changes I made were to omit the file powder and ground cloves (didn't have any) and I used chicken broth instead of mushroom. Finally, I made the rice in the rice cooker then just poured the jambalaya over the top. Very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
My husband and I can't claim any louisiana roots, but we love to make cajun food, especially Jambalaya. This one is a great "base" to which you can add all sorts of things. We used jumbo shrimp and finely chopped sausage, with great results. The best thing about this base: the spices. I didn't add the file powder because I couldn't find it my grocery store, and we didn't miss it. The allspice is a really nice twist that works really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I substituted half a pound of sausage and half a pound of shrimp for the fish, kept everything the same, it was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Made this last night after searching the site for a red snapper recipe. Using a half recipe with one andouille sausage added with the vegetables, I followed suggestions to add the fish chunks late in the cooking and also included about 8 large thawed shrimp cut into thirds. Had Jambalaya made by a friend years ago, but this was a first try by me -- and a keeper! Having the leftovers tonight, so it's really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I made this recipe with high expectations because of it's five star rating. I was making a surprise birthday dinner for my boyfriend and was really excited to try this (because he makes an excellent jambalaya himself). I followed the recipe to the tee and by the time the hour simmer had passed, there were no fish bites left. It had all dissolved into a pasty mess. Thank goodness I had bought sausage or it would have just been a rice dish. I was very sad :( and embarrassed to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States