The Cake That Doesn't Last Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is my 'go to' cake when I have ripe bananas hanging around. I add 1 cup of unsweetened, shredded coconut and use pecans instead of walnuts. Also, I use butter instead of vegetable oil. Always tastes great and is gone very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Took a chance and made it for company. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out moist, delicious, and rose beautifully in the bundt pan! My company just loved the moistness, and even took some slices home. My husband is not a cake person, but he snuck down in the middle of the night just to sneak another piece! Wow! I'm so glad I tried it. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
FANTASTIC! I'm always looking for yummy new recipes for old bananas and this is one of my absolute favorites! My only change was substitute 1/2 applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil. (I would have replaced half the oil with applesauce, but I didn't have enough.) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is an old family favorite. Over the years, though, I've reduced the oil and sugar each by half, and I actually like the flavor and texture much better this way. I've even baked it for wedding cakes--it's always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
True to its word! The CAke that Doesn't Last. I made it as stated, but I did cut the oil in half and used the applesauce. Only difference. So yummy... I ate so much of it myself. HA.. Loved it!!!! Will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I love this cake, I made it for my co-workers and it was gone in 2 min! I use 1 cup of cinnamon applesauce and 1/2 cup of oil instead of the 1 1/2 cups of oil and its just delicious it comes out better in a silicone bundt "pan" and I always have enough batter for a small bread pan. making it to give to neighbors and friends for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have had this receipe for 30 years and my receipe calls for only 1-1/2 C sugar, 1 C oil, no nuts and an UNDRAINED 8oz can of crushed pineapple. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
The cake is fabulous when made by the original recipe. I also make a browned butter glaze for the cake.Melt 1/3 cup butter on medium heat till golden brown.Add 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 1/2 t. vanilla and 3 T. warm water. Stir till mixed and quickly drizzle over cooled cake. Top with chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ackerly, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I WOULD HAVE RATED THIS RECIPE ANOTHER STAR - BUT -GOOD THING I TASTED THE BATTER AFTER PUTTING 1 CUP OF SUGAR INTO IT (RECIPE CALLED FOR 2 CUPS SUGAR) IT WAS VERY SWEET WITH 1 CUP (I DO LIKE SWEET THINGS) I'M SURPRISED THAT OTHER PEOPLE DIDN'T MENTION THIS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very moist and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States