The Breakfast Omwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Wow - I took one look at this and it had my husband's name written all over it! Anything that has ham AND bacon and I just have to make it for him. It had a lot of "optional" ingredients so I left out the things that he doesn't like, of course that means most of the veggies like mushrooms and jalepeno pepper but everything else stayed. I used a toasted steak roll vs. bread because this thing was a little on the large side plus it was getting wrapped in foil and going to work with him. Overall, it got rave reviews from him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I doubled this recipe this morning to feed three, my husband and two boys. I used organic eggs, kept the cheese at a half cup and the cheese I used was 2% sharp cheddar (to cut some of the fat) and I used turkey bacon and thinly sliced turkey ham. I used red bell pepper instead of green (just a personal family preferance) and omitted the jalapeno only because I'm feeding small children. I served this on toasted Dave's Killer Bread and instead of mayo, my husband used homemade salsa and reduced fat sour cream as "glue" to hold his om-wich together. I assume they liked them because five minutes later, nothing was left. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Used ingredients listed in recipe except for mushrooms (sometimes I use, didn't have any on hand). I made in microwave by melting 1 Tablespoon of butter in a 9" pie plate. I separted the eggs and beat the egg whites until soft peaks formed, then folded in the yolks and poured into pie plate. I cooked in the microwave for about 3 1/2 to 4 minutes. Puffed up beautifully, I then added ingredients on one side of omelet and then folded over. Served with homemade salsa and sour cream. Also sprinkled garlic salt on buttered toast. This is basically the same recipe I use for making filled French omelets. I also use an apple filling or potato/ham filling. Simple recipe which we always enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Photo by Jeff Acord
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
It says add a PINCH of salt and pepper. season to taste. use common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: East Renton Highlands, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I only had the optional fresh mushrooms and chives to include in this but I’m telling you, I don’t know how this sandwich could be improved with the peppers. This was just decadently delicious – maybe it was the ciabatta bread I used for this sandwich that made it extra special, or maybe it was the unique addition, for me anyway, of the mayonnaise and hot sauce. I feel somewhat guilty eating this because of its high fat and calorie content, but I don’t indulge in stuff like this often. My tummy and I are very happy right now. I suspect we WILL be all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Made for the Recipe Group ~ excellent jumping off point for a breakfast sandwich. You can alter this in so many ways. I did stay close to the true recipe with only the omittion of chives & ham (didn't have any on hand). I used a red bell pepper as I finished my green one at dinner last night. Next time I will add more jalapeno as I could not taste any heat...and I only used 2 eggs and scaled the rest down by a third as I was the only one eating this, and I served it on a toasted, sprouted grain bagel instead of bread. I only put half the Omwich on the bagel, the other half will be for breakie tomorrow! :) Great idea demz....thanks for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. Seriously good stuff! I didn't have any ham, but went ahead and made it anyway. I have made breakfast sandwiches before by just beating everything in with the eggs and scrambling them together in the pan. Makes sense to let the bottom set but by the time that happens they were browning already before the flip part. I flipped and just let it cook long enough to finish cooking the eggs inside. Never thought to put mayo on the bread, I usually add jelly! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Sara S.
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Amazing!! will make again but insted of using toast I used a pita and make a kinda wrap out of it, it tasted Great!! also even put a bit of feta cheese and tomato it. kids love it!! there always asking us to make it thanks for the great recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Made for Recipe Group: 09, April '11 Great sandwich - but you had better be hungry! This is a wonderful, filling sandwich with lots of taste. I made it with red pepper rather than green and skipped the mushrooms. Delicious and will make again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Biscuits

Load them up with bacon or sausage, eggs, and cheese.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States